Irish Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Tastes like a mounds bar without the chocolate! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Mine turned out a little sticky and hard to roll into balls, but firmed up in the fridge pretty nicely. Maybe next time I'll refrigerate the coconut/sugar/milk mixture (I used milk instead of cream, and it was fine) before rolling. Delicious though - we gobbled up the whole plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Not the Irish potato candy recipe that we have always been used to. We use cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Cimmamon-coconut-sugar...OH MY! I was looking for a quick, easy recipe for a St. Patrick's Day desert, but couldn't imagine that these could be any good. So few ingredients! Boy, was I wrong! I only made a half-batch at first, but then I made a full batch when I realized how great they were. I did use only about a teaspoon of cinnamon in my shaking bag, and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I find that these are even better the day after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Easy to make everyone loved them. I now have to make them for all the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aromatic1
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is a really fun and easy recipe! I read the reviews and was careful to use unsweetened shredded coconut, so the potatoes didn't come out too sweet. I used a very heaping cup of coconut and a scant cup of powdered sugar. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. The consistentcy came out just perfect, like moldable clay. I found that pressing the balls of coconut mixture in the palms of my hands warmed them and made them more smooth and realistic looking. A plastic snack bag made it easy to coat three or four potatoes at a time with the cinnamon. They really look like little potatoes! And they taste like yummy coconut macaroons. I'm adding a photo of my happy results. Five stars for fun, easy, delicious and no baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aromatic1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Do not use a fresh coconut! I used this recipe with fresh shredded coconut. I carefully measured 1 cup of coconut, 1 cup of sugar, and 1 1/2 tablespoons of cream. I ended up with a creamy mess that was too wet to form into balls. I tried to add the cinnamon, hoping it would bind the mixture. Instead, I have a cup of wet brown shredded coconut mix, and can't figure out how to dry it out. Perhaps store-bought shredded coconut is denser and will absorb the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I decided to make this recipe because it was high rated.Sadly,this turned out terrible.And I KNOW how to cook and bake beautifully.I followed the recipe exactly and it was too much coconut and didnt taste too well.I wouldn't make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theculinaryninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Good texture and flavor. I read the other reviews and I can understand why some of the reviewers thought they were too sweet or it was too much cinnamon. I might cut back on the cinnamon next time, but overall I thought they tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States