Irish Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Tastes like a mounds bar without the chocolate! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Mine turned out a little sticky and hard to roll into balls, but firmed up in the fridge pretty nicely. Maybe next time I'll refrigerate the coconut/sugar/milk mixture (I used milk instead of cream, and it was fine) before rolling. Delicious though - we gobbled up the whole plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Not the Irish potato candy recipe that we have always been used to. We use cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Cimmamon-coconut-sugar...OH MY! I was looking for a quick, easy recipe for a St. Patrick's Day desert, but couldn't imagine that these could be any good. So few ingredients! Boy, was I wrong! I only made a half-batch at first, but then I made a full batch when I realized how great they were. I did use only about a teaspoon of cinnamon in my shaking bag, and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I find that these are even better the day after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Easy to make everyone loved them. I now have to make them for all the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aromatic1
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is a really fun and easy recipe! I read the reviews and was careful to use unsweetened shredded coconut, so the potatoes didn't come out too sweet. I used a very heaping cup of coconut and a scant cup of powdered sugar. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. The consistentcy came out just perfect, like moldable clay. I found that pressing the balls of coconut mixture in the palms of my hands warmed them and made them more smooth and realistic looking. A plastic snack bag made it easy to coat three or four potatoes at a time with the cinnamon. They really look like little potatoes! And they taste like yummy coconut macaroons. I'm adding a photo of my happy results. Five stars for fun, easy, delicious and no baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aromatic1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Do not use a fresh coconut! I used this recipe with fresh shredded coconut. I carefully measured 1 cup of coconut, 1 cup of sugar, and 1 1/2 tablespoons of cream. I ended up with a creamy mess that was too wet to form into balls. I tried to add the cinnamon, hoping it would bind the mixture. Instead, I have a cup of wet brown shredded coconut mix, and can't figure out how to dry it out. Perhaps store-bought shredded coconut is denser and will absorb the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I decided to make this recipe because it was high rated.Sadly,this turned out terrible.And I KNOW how to cook and bake beautifully.I followed the recipe exactly and it was too much coconut and didnt taste too well.I wouldn't make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theculinaryninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Good texture and flavor. I read the other reviews and I can understand why some of the reviewers thought they were too sweet or it was too much cinnamon. I might cut back on the cinnamon next time, but overall I thought they tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States