Irish Potato Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
didn't turn out right at all. would not make again. seems like they need more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These were delicious! I added a little onion powder to the dough mixture - this was a BIG help! I used bacon grease to fry the second batch instead of using flour - this was also quite tasty. They were good either way, really... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
These are delicious! I followed the PR's suggestion and doubled the butter and flour...mmmm...betcha can't eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I used about twice the flour butter and salt, and they turned out great. I also put a pat of butter on each piece before I served them, We all really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
These potato pancakes don't have any flavor. I tried making them in a pan with flour, then I tried frying some of them in oil. The fried ones had a little flavor, but overall they were really blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Made this on St Patricks Day as part of an Ulster Fry-up breakfast. My husband really liked them and my 4 year old daughter and I thought they were ok. The recipe was very easy but I did have to add quite a bit more flour than the recipe called for. Might try adding some onion and herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
i made these for st pactricks day for my bf ... i did a mistake and added icing sugar and honey with them... dont try it ... the are ment to be salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra George

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I usually make boxty for our StP's dinner, but I saw these and thought I'd give them a trial run. I can't say I liked them. I found I needed WAY more flour to make the dough pliable, and they really didn't achieve the light fluffy texture that farls should have. I think I'll try my luck with Ita's farl recipe that uses buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
We had these with the Ulster Fry-Up, and although I had told myself beforehand that I'd have only one wedge, I ate so many that I'd hate to admit to the actual count. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Greaves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States