Irish Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Fabulous, but only 4 stars because I had to tweak A LOT! Follow these instructions and you'll love it too. First cook at 400 not 350. Increase shredded potatoes to SIX CUPS and reduce your butter to 1/3 cup. I didn't have paprika so I used 1 tsp of garlic spread mix and a dash of pepper...yum! Cook for the 40 minutes then put it under low broil for 5 minutes to crisp the top (watch it so you don't overdo it). Pull it out, add your chedder and back in the oven just till melted. Take it out and let it "rest" for 5 minutes before eating. (This gives the butter a little time to absorb because you will see some in there when you pull it out. My hubby and 3 girls devoured this and was so sad I didn't make a bigger batch! I served it with pork chops and veggies. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
943 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4Six!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I have been making this for years. My Granmum passed this on to all her granddaughters (with slight differences). My family always enjoys this and we make it regularly. For those that are complaining about it being greasy it is most likely because you are using Margarine instead of butter. My sister did this years ago we found IF you are going to use Margarine instead of Butter then only use 1/2 of what the recipe calls for (so about 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup). Just a note using margarine instead of butter does change the taste of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
My husband and I both liked this recipe. The next time I make this I will add more potatoes. I only used half the butter that it called for and it wasn't greasy at all. This was good, very easy and simple to make. One good thing about this recipe is that you probably already have all the ingredients on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I found this recipe to be tasteless and mushy. I did make it according to the recipe as stated -- something I wish EVERY person would do on this site! Make the dish according to the recipe FIRST and rate it as such, then, if you want to, post the changes you make to a subsequent try of the original recipe. This is the ONLY way to know if a particular recipe is GOOD or NOT so good and isn't that why we're rating these recipes to begin with???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I've been making this for years and find it to be delicious every time. Something similar to this has been made in my family for generations. To those who rated this only one or two stars: please rate only the original recipe. If you change it (i.e. using margerine instead of butter) then it's no longer the recipe that was submitted and you're rating your own changes, not the submitter's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morristown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
My entire family found this recipe to be, frankly, disgusting. It tasted like old, soggy potatoes, and its appearance was very uninviting. We'll pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2000
This is a very good dish but I agree with another reader's comment...either add more potatoes or less margarine. I opted for less margarine but next time I will even add more potatoes. Nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
I made a large batch of these potatoes, and no one really liked them. There was too little potato, way too much butter, and I think they were a bit too salty, too. If I were to make them again, I'd definitely add more potatoes and cut back on both the salt and the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was very bland. I prefer my own recipe for hashed browns, that includes more chopped onion, sour cream, mayo, a can cream of potato soup, more seasonings and more cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
The comments at the dinner table were: rank, mushy, tasteless and gross. After everyone had one bite, they were told they did not have to eat it. Out in the trash it went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States