Irish Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
A friend made this with minor adjustments - she substituted a bit of sour cream for some of the butter (added richness) and instead of cheese she used lightly crushed corn flakes for the topping. Nice crunch and added texture. Other personal touches can't change the fact that this is a simply wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Potatoes need to be dried off! This is why it comrs out mushy. With all sorts of modifications to give this some taste, it will not reappear on my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Durham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Too much butter by far. Next time I'll try following the suggestions Feb. 19, 2009 suggestions by Cookin4Six!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
this was a bit boring but I think it will make a good base recipe when I jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was good. I used frozen shredded hash browns instead of shredding the potatoes myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
My son (6 yrs) and I both loved it! He said he liked it even better than baked mac & cheese which is his favorite. I agree with anyone who said a few modifications and this is perfect. Wanting to go along the lines of more potatoes, less butter as other stated while keeping it proportional for just two people; I used four cups of potatoes and 1/3 cup of butter. Also, instead of shredding the patatoes I diced them into 1/4" wide, 1/2 inch long pieces. I added about 1 tsp of garlic powder, an additional tsp of paprika (taste preference) and also 1/4 cup of Best Food mayo for a bit of an extra kick. Along with 1 tbsp of onion instead of tsp, I added about 1/2 cup of diced yellow bell peppers. I cooked at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes before spreading a generous amount of chedder on top for another 5-6 minutes. (We like gooey cheddar.) The only thing I wasn't too crazy about was the "eggy" taste... which tasted good, but reminded me more a breakfast dish than a savory dinner... thus 4/5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I used canned diced potatoes because that's what I had handy. Did not turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Way too greasy. Doesn't say whether the potatos should be patted dry after shredding, but they should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this for my family of five. All agreed it was far too oily. I saw one review who said they used six cups of potatoes and half of the margarine. I think that would be better. We would have liked it with less margarine - and I didn't use as much as it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Thought this was super-yummy! My kids were not fans, but my picky husband was! I doubled the recipe. Had to cook a little longer that the directions said, 40 min, then about 15 more once I put on the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States