Irish Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
way too much butter! Turned out really greasy. next time I will use about a quarter of the butter and more potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I followed PP advice and used about 6 cups of shredded potatoes and just about 2 1/2 Tbs of melted butter. Baked at 400 for 45 min, then added colby jack cheese and broiled for 4-5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Not impressed. Bland. Not cheesy enough and kinda greasy. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight. My husband loved it and so did I. I did vary it a bit. I added one medium finely chopped onion, some Mrs Dash, sea salt, and less butter is better. I will make this often especially when I need to make it for a family function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Excellent! I've made this and variations thereof for years. I sometimes add dill and or garlic - some green onions makes it rather like a champ casserole its a great side for holidays - For my own taste though, i do use double the potatoes - this is an excellent recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was very bland. I prefer my own recipe for hashed browns, that includes more chopped onion, sour cream, mayo, a can cream of potato soup, more seasonings and more cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This was okay. Not near as good as it sounds, though. not really very cheesy, and I don't think the eggs help the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This was a good base to start with. I added 1 thick slice of crisp bacon crumbled up, two green onions with tops. I think the reason some thought this was mushy is because the grated potato gets very starchy after grating. I put my grated potato in a large colandar and rinsed all the starch off before adding to the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
It was very good, I honestly would say I have to agree with the majority that the Butter could certainly have been cut down slightly. It's certainly worth another go, but I think for my next attempt, I'm going to Chop the onions (to match the shredded Potato), mix in some shredded Spinach, and Mix approximately 1/2 of the cheese into the initial mixture, for a tad more stick to the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This were very good. I substituted minced garlic, for the onion flakes and only used one egg. I will probably cut some of the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States