Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
These taste exactly like I remember the ones from Utche's Candy in Medford Lakes New Jersey tasted growing up. My mother would always buy us a small boy on St. Patrick's Day. They are very, very sweet, but so are all of the Irish Lasses!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
These are fun to make. My kids really enjoyed making them, however, no one would eat them after trying one. The initial taste of cinnamon is way too strong and the cream cheese part is just too sugary. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
These were great and so easy. I don't think they taste at all like See's, but they're wonderful in their own way. Like a little ball of frosting with coconut wrapped in cinnamon. I thought the cinnamon might overwhelm me, but it didn't at all. Delish! (And I agree to refrigerate between steps - so much easier.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Adorable treat for St. Patrick's Day dinner. I skipped the coconut and added peanut butter, just out of personal preference, I think they would have been great with coconut too. Since I used peanut butter I rolled them in cocoa and confectioners' sugar in place of the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These were cute, and they tasted good but certainly would not become my favorite,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Very cute and yummy. Putting them in the fridge for a while before rolling them definitely helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettybelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good. They are sticky and moist to roll, so definitely plan on refrigerating prior to rolling them into balls. Yes, these are sweet, but Irish potatoes are synonymous with super sugary sweet goodness :) The cream cheese makes them moister than usual and taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSEDO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I spent time reading through almost all of the reviews and found the hints about chilling the mixture quite helpful. Instead of using cocoa, I used Godiva Milk Chocolate Hot Chocolate mix, along with the cinnamon. It was just the right amount sweetness and color is perfect for potatoes. I also used fat-free cream cheese, which I realize is like having a diet soda with a Baconator, but cutting out some of the fat is better than nothing. I'm taking these to a carry-in at my school on Wednesday and knowing the staff, there won't be a single potato left by the end of lunch. The hard is part is going to be hiding them from husband in the meantime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Pretty good recipe, but, 4 cups 10x sugar was way too sweet. Threw away the first batch and only used 2 cups 10x sugar second time around. A little softer consistency, but after chilling in the fridge it was easy to roll into balls. Tasted much better with less sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEME
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
It tasted of pure sugar to me. Loved the look but it didn't taste that great. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States