Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SillyLilly
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Wow,this stuff is rich! Very sweet. I had so much fun making it. I read many reviews before I did and I decided after taste testing a bit that rolling them in cinnamon,cocoa,and powdered sugar was best. It was quite sticky until I popped it in the fridge,much easier to handle after that! I am definitely making this again in the next couple of weeks and handing them out for St. Patrick's Day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyLilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Very fun and easy to make. I am not a huge fan of cinnamon so I did do half Cinn. and half cocoa. My husband just loved them. I do have to say they are so cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
To me these were nothing special tasted like cream cheese frosting w/coconut.. wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Peay Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Good candy. Made as stated. Little sticky, but that is to be had with this candy. Doesn't taste quite like ones I have bought-that is why not higher stars. Guess try to make things that taste as good or better than I can buy. This candy seems to be hard for me to conquer. Think this may be like bread in certain parts of county-bagels particularly-tasting different from altitude. Maybe wrong-my 2cents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I had never tried irish potato candy but decided to try them and they were great! I loved them rolled in cocoa powder or just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Fabulous, exactly as written! No need to "dilute" the cinnamon ... it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very Tasty! The potatoes are much easier to work with if you let the mixture chill in the fridge until it's cold and then assemble them. I also found that using just ground cinnamon did not work well for rolling. Instead, I used a cinnamon/sugar mixture; this worked perfectly and tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Rich and delicious! It's basically just thick cream cheese icing with coconut. Definitely more of a candy than a cookie... so sweet I can only eat 1 or 2 at a time (which is probably a good thing). Made them for a group of friends and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Anne H
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Adorable! A few tips: First, do NOT use pure ground cinnamon for the coating. Use a cinnamon sugar mixture. Pure cinnamon is WAY too strong. Second, they are slightly less easy to make than the recipe lets on. It says "beat" until smooth then use your hands "if necessary" to mix in the coconut. Technically, you "beat" until your arm gives out, then give up and use your hands. You'll definitely need to use your hands to mix in the coconut! Don't use a mixer. It will not work. We got 60 potatoes out of it, but some were bigger than others. They were a lot of fun to make and they went over well at my husband's St. Patrick's Day party at the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States