Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Rich and delicious! It's basically just thick cream cheese icing with coconut. Definitely more of a candy than a cookie... so sweet I can only eat 1 or 2 at a time (which is probably a good thing). Made them for a group of friends and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Anne H
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Adorable! A few tips: First, do NOT use pure ground cinnamon for the coating. Use a cinnamon sugar mixture. Pure cinnamon is WAY too strong. Second, they are slightly less easy to make than the recipe lets on. It says "beat" until smooth then use your hands "if necessary" to mix in the coconut. Technically, you "beat" until your arm gives out, then give up and use your hands. You'll definitely need to use your hands to mix in the coconut! Don't use a mixer. It will not work. We got 60 potatoes out of it, but some were bigger than others. They were a lot of fun to make and they went over well at my husband's St. Patrick's Day party at the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These were delicious. I rolled mine in cinnamon sugar instead of just cinnamon as I was afraid pure cinnamon might be too much. Very rich and creamy and, most importantly, a breeze to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Interesting and yummy, but very rich! I made them for St. Pat's Day and they tasted similarly to an Almond Joy but richer because of the cream cheese. I took some reviewer's advice to use cocoa powder and cinnamon for the outer layer and I am very thankful that I did -- otherwise, the cinnamon would have been way to over-powering for my taste. I will probably make these again next year, but will definitely halve the batch since you can only eat a few bites of these rich little suckers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Love Love Love this recipe! I think it would work for a coconut Easter egg too if covered in dark chocolate. I did mix 1 TBS of cinnamon with 1 TBS of dark cocoa (and a bit of brown sugar) for the coating. My son loves it! So do I :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are so cool! They were a breeze to make, and I even made them vegan, using vegan "Cream Cheeze" and vegan "butter" sticks. Since my Kitchen-Aid mixer was otherwise occupied, I mixed the ingredients together by hand, wearing gloves, and that added to the fun of making these treats. They are just SO cute! They are REALLY rich and sweet, so you only need one, ha ha. They were a big hit at my small family St. Patrick's Day Dinner, and I'll be making them every year, I think. Wish I had taken photos to add to the others, but mine looked just as good as all of the other submissions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
No matter how you roll 'em or cover 'em, these little spuds are yummy--as long as you don't have a problem with the texture of coconut! And the cinnamon is a wonderful flavor that makes the candy--not too strong at all. If you don't like cinnamon, however, the cocoa tastes good, too. Next time I make them I will be surer to use the full amount of coconut and perhaps add chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
They turned out looking SUPER cute! The recipe itsef was fine but it was a little too rich and sweet for my taste. All in all the recipe was fine just not my prefered treat, and served as more of a st patricks day decoration :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Made these for my husband's afterschool Bible study group. Easy, a little sticky to shape, chilling would help. I did chop coconut in food processor and added baking cocoa and a little powdered sugar to the cinnamon to roll them in. they were a hit. Thanks...may have started a new St. Patrick's Day tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
YUMMY!! SUPER Sweet!! im talking UBER sweet! but SOOooooo Good! i dusted them with coco cause i have a 19 month old, and it just seemed like a better choice for her. i will make again for Pattys Day! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mrs D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States