Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made these yesterday for St.Patrick's Day and they are so good! I would definitely recommend this recipe. I used reg salted butter and reg cream cheese (not low fat) for the recipe. Very easy to make. I did not roll the "potatoes" in cinnamon after they were chilled. There was plenty on there and I have heard from others that the cinnamon can be overpowering if too much is put on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was always a favorite in Philadelphia on St. Patty's day. I had no idea that it was so well known outside of that area. I make them every year, but only in the last few years have I added the cream cheese. Before that I was quite happy without it, but I like it with too. After chilling (and I have already left them in the refrigerator overnight), I have always simply shaken them in a bag containing cinnamon. I will have to try including cocoa with the cinnamon this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McDarla
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Love these and have been making them for many years now. Fun and delicious. Don't think you need to change a thing. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McDarla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Shapleigh, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I grew up in Philly and looked forward to eating these every year! This receipe is the closest I've found to the original Oh Ryan's Irish potatoes. Absolutely delicious! And it's supposed to be sweet, however...those that say it's too sweet and those who get less than 60 "potatoes" out of this recipe are making them too big. They should be the size of extra-large marbles. This way, the taste of the sweet filling and the cinnamon coating is balanced and tastes perfectly blended when you eat it. Also...the ingredient list isn't very clear about the amt of cream cheese. You should use 4 oz. of cream cheese, which is half of a packet. And yes, the full 4 cups of POWDERED sugar is needed so it's not too sticky. I greased my hands w/ a tiny bit of butter about 3 times total while rolling balls. If you roll them using your palms instead of your fingers, it won't stick as much. I got about 67 potatoes, but I made them smaller than usual. Thank you for posting this delicious reminisance of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Reading the reviews and seeing the chilling notes definitely helped making this recipe. I would've quit otherwise. I did use the ground cinnamon but will try with cocoa next time just try something different. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bay Laurel Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
These are great! I make these every year and decided to try a new recipe! My "dough" came out thick so i didn't need to refrigerate before rolling in the cinnamon. I also have a question, if i keep them out of the fridge will they go bad? Because i like mine soft where as when you put them in the fridge they get all hard unless you let them sit out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Adorable. Made these for the pastry buffet at the casino I work for; St. Pat's Day menu. For our tasting I toasted the coconut and added 2T. Bushmills Irish whisky plus chopped toasted pistachios...added depth of flavor and cut the sweetness a bit. Added powdered sugar and cocoa powder to the cinnamon coating to cut the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
The flavor is spot on, but there is something off in the ingredient list. My mixture was souping and impossible to work with. Having made Irish Potato Candy before I know this is not how it's suppose to be. I'm disappointed that this reciepe won't be ready for the event I am scheduled to attend this evening. However like the other comments, if I let the mixture rest overnight, it might we salvagable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
tasted great,very amazaing recipie, came out perfect, was able to role out w/o any problems family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SillyLilly
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Wow,this stuff is rich! Very sweet. I had so much fun making it. I read many reviews before I did and I decided after taste testing a bit that rolling them in cinnamon,cocoa,and powdered sugar was best. It was quite sticky until I popped it in the fridge,much easier to handle after that! I am definitely making this again in the next couple of weeks and handing them out for St. Patrick's Day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyLilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States