Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I used an enormous bowl to catch overflow, made recipe with an extra teaspoon of butter.After mixing, put into 2 sandwich bags,put in fridge for over an hour, and then used 3/4 teaspoon to portion and roll them into another sandwich bag filled with cinnamon to shake/coat them. quick and easy that way,the kids had a ball making them, without a huge mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe yielded 40 potato candies, each was about 2 bites. Chilling in between steps is the key! Chill them for about 30 minutes after you mix in the coconut, then chill them another 30 minutes after shaping them, chill them about 20 minutes after rolling them in cinnamon. I used 1/2 tbsp of cocoa with every 1 tbsp cinnamon for the coating. After letting it set for about 20 minutes, I brushed the excess off with a basting brush.. I HIGHLY reccomend doing that, otherwise the coating is overwhelming. If you're not a cinnamon lover, I would suggest rolling them in just cocoa, I think I am going to try that next time. As is, the cinnamon taste is WAY to strong, for kids, I would definitely try the cocoa route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
These were fun to make. The kids helped me. They hit the spot just right. However they are incredibly sweet. I did make the balls a little smaller than usual because of the sweetness. But everyone at 2 family reunions loved them. Each adult was good with about 1-2 though. Will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
So awesome. I had these when I was young at a little shop in Southhamptom,PA. They definately need to be chilled a little before shaping.Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
These were cute, although not quite as cute as I imagined. I guess because to make them on such a small scale, they don't really resemble a potato. However, they tasted really good and my guests loved them. I like them, but they are really rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I never made these before, but always loved them from the store. This recipe was simple and turned out great. They are delicious. My boyfriend's review: "Yum! Just like the nuns used to make". Yes, that was a compliment! I used a good deal more cinnamon, but other than that, no changes to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
So this is pretty much a heavy butter cream frosting with coconut. It's pretty dang yummy as is. I only gave the recipe 4 stars, because it requires a LOT of chilling in-between stages in order to keep the dough workable and not a pile of goo, so the prep time/ready time isn't even close. I mixed a little powdered sugar (1/2 tsp per tablespoon) with the cinnamon to keep it less bitter for the kids. Next time, I may reduce the powdered sugar to see if it tastes a little less like frosting and more like cheesecake. I've also considered adding a box of sugar free pudding mix to it for flavor. I'll let you know how it goes! Thanks for the good starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I make these every ST Patty's Day and it's great to get new ideas for making them taster. I love these. I liked the review with added cocoa powder, never used Cocoa powder before. Going to have to try that. and also I love recipes using cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
My daughter needed to take something to school(middle school) for a Christmas celebration. We made 2 batches of these and she said it wasn't enough, everyone wanted more. Two of her teachers asked for the recipe. They are wonderful. I would not change anything when making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States