Irish Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made for the 1st time and looking at the simple ingredients wondering.... Turned out to be a surprise favorite among all ages at the party. I followed the recipe exactly (added a little nutmeg) but can see this easily can be changed up(toasting coconut, using cocoa, nutmeg) with great results. Very easy. The "dough" was sticky to roll trick is to coat the piece of dough and then roll it, and chill. EasyEasy! 30mins top in time !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana S'Silvestri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Delicious!!! The only change I made was putting the coconut through the blender. It made it creamier =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Mine came out perfect! I hand mixed everything (which is a little time consuming) and mine didn't turn out sticky at all. I mostly sprinkled the cinnamon and didn't completely cover them, which didn't really make the cinnamon overwhelming, it's just right. My roommate's father is Irish (he is the first generation born in America) and he used to eat these as a kid with his dad, who recently passed away. I made these specially for him, and he was so excited and said they came out great! Follow the recipe exactly, and maybe adjust the amount of cinnamon you can handle/prefer, and they come out awesome! I will be sharing this recipe with friends :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Great recipe. To the reveiwer who asked, I always leave mine out of the fridge. After rolling in cinnamon,I leave them on the counter uncovered. When they start to get dried out a bit (an hour or less), i turn them over and let them dry another hour or so before covering. This helps them keep their shape and the inside stays soft and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Perfect, easy to make treat for St. Paddy's Day! My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is a tradition at the jersey shore. A must have every St Patricks day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I just made these and they were easy and delicious. My only question is how to store them and do they have to be refrigerated?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made this yesterday. First time making this candy. Candy that I have loved, like forever. Coconut is not one of my favorite things. Irish Potatoes (with coconut) make me want more. All went well; no problems. Question. Irish Potatoes that I have purchased over the years were at room temperature. I did chill candy when I was done, per instructions, to firm them. Can I now leave the candy out? I just answered my own question. I left one 'potato' out when I transferred 'potatoes' from the cookie sheet to a container I placed back into the refrigerator. Is this recipe not the recipe used by the candy stores? The one I left out for several hours was 'mushy'. Please help me correct this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
MMMMMM....DELICIOUS very easy and big hit........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Burdsall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I thought these were delicious. Taste better than the ones you buy at the store. I see some users said they were to sweet, but what do you expect when you are using mostly powdered sugar!? TIP If you add more coconut they stiffen more so you can roll them better, no need to add extra powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dominello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States