Irish Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I have this in the oven right now. I followed the recipe very close, the only change I made was Pecans in the place of walnuts. I used cold mashed potatoes so that I was not adding anything too warm to the mixture of eggs and sugar. It has to cook for a long time, but so far it smells wonderful. I notice a lot of people think the spices are too much, the beauty of trying new things is that you can adjust them as needed. I also saw that someone wanted to use apples in the place of raisins. I might try that in addition TO the raisins. It came out very well! Dense texture, I enjoy the spices, but can see where some would like to tone it down. It is very moist but if I had cooked it any longer it would be dry on the outside. I think served with a fruit compote it would make a really good desert. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith A Corey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pomaria, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Really good! My husband took this to work for St. Patrick Day potluck at work. My husband said everyone just raved over this cake! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This came out really good. It reminds me of zucchini bread. The only change is the next time I will cut the cloves in half. I think the baking time is a little long. My cake, in a 10 inch bundt pan, was done in 75 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Absolutely amazing cake!! I did however make a few changes. I used 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, combo of margarine and butter (instead of shortening, reduced the amount of nuts and raisens to 1/3 cup each, added 1/2 apple and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. Ok, I did alter the original recipe a bit (but based my changes on other reviews and not liking cloves.) I took this to a St Pat day dinner and car smelled like a delish aromatic potato cake. Everyone started eating the cake BEFORE dinner was served!! Once they started eating it........no one stopped until it was finished! If I didn't see it happen I wouldn't believe it. lol btw - I'm not a sweet eater but did love, love this cake. Due to the natural sugars in the potatoes I think I will be able to reduce the sugar to 1 1/2cups next time. Oh, and it did take almost 2 hours to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe. It is perfectly spiced, moist and delicious. The potatoes make for a dense, wonderfully rich cake recipe. This is like taking a bite out of a dessert made by my Great Grandma. Thanks for sharing, this recipe has now become a permanent favorite in our house. Vanilla ice cream is yummy with it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by auntymew
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
My sister, cousin and I found this recipe and thought it sounded so intriguing we'd make it for a lark just to see how it came out...we had all the ingredients...even cooked fresh potatoes and mashed them...the only thing that was substituted was pecans instead of walnuts because that's what we had. We were tempted to add or change things but decided to stick with the recipe exactly and in the end we are glad we did because it came out absolutely splendid! Moist and just the right spicy..not too much or too little. We brought it a St Patrick's Day Party last night and it was a hit...everyone loved it!!! It's definitely going to be made again! And it's easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Made this for the Saint Patrick's Day party I went to last night. It was delicious! People are very surprised when you tell them it's made with two cups of mashed potatoes! (By the way, I used instant mashed potatoes and it came out great.) Terrific recipe; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey Tomato

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This wasn't too difficult to make, and the cake turned out just as it was supposed to, but I did not enjoy the flavor like I thought I would. Maybe it was the spices used but it did not taste how I expected it to. Like I said, it looked just like the picture and came out to a perfect texture, but it just didn't taste good :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this for my daughter's 2nd grade class for Multi-Cultural Day and it was devoured! Thankfully, I had brought along this amazing recipe so I had it when I was bombarded by the other parents!! Now, I'm pressed by my neighbors to make it! A very moist and delicious cake! And very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan LeMieux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by goose1128
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made this for St. Patty's Day and everyone at work LOVED it! It's a dense, rich almost bread-like cake. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! (I just added a milk & confectioners sugar glaze with green food coloring to be festive!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose1128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States