Irish Potato and Chive Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is one of my most favorite ways to make mashed potatoes. I like to add a little sauteed fresh minced garlic, too. Whenever I make this, there's NEVER any leftovers. NOTE: This is a great base for colcannon, too. Just steam your cabbage and cook your bacon to a crisp and crumble, then fold the cabbage and bacon in. It's seriously heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I don't know what it is that makes it so, but there's something about taking relatively ordinary mashed potatoes and baking them that transforms them into something extraordinary. Hubs said this is remiminscent of what you'd you'd get in fine restaurants. Since I was making this for just the two of us I piped the potatoes with a large open star tip into 6 oz. ramekins which made this elegant as well as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
VERY delicious. I didn't change anything. My husband is a huge potato loving guy and loved it. I did cover the casserole for the first 20 min and took the cover off for the remaining 10 min. my oven tends to over bake and I didn't want it to be dried out. I served it with corned beef instead of the usual boiled potatoes. Will be a new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Absolutely disgracefully delicious. In a pathetic attempt to make it less horrible for you, I halve the amount of cream cheese. This then allows me to justify sprinkling a couple of handfuls of grated extra-sharp Cheddar cheese on top. Plan on making it this Thanksgiving as it will HORRIFY my health-conscious MIL. Heh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is one of our favorite potato recipes. I've even made it using instant potatoes and it came out good. Also I like to mix the chives into the mashed potatoes rather than on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
5 stars are not nearly enough for this recipe. Cooked this recipe exactly as stated like I always do. This recipe was simple, perfect and easy. People couldn't beileve it didn't take a long time to make. I had planned on taking some leftovers for lunch; however, there weren't any. Made this dish with Chef John's meatloaf and mushroom gravy. Talk about an absolutely perfect and satisfying meal. Thanks BAWHITE1. I will definitely be making these again. I am a potato fiend and these really hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Funliven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brundidge, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome casserole. I made this last night and baked it today for Easter dinner. We always have potato casserole with hashbrowns and cream of chicken soup... you all know which one I'm talking about. I thought I'd try something different this year and I'm so glad I did. This rocked and everyone said they want this casserole from now on!! Only change I made was adding 1/4 cup crumbled bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
The cream cheese was overpowering. It tasted like potatoes mixed with cream cheese. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrawberrySmoothie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
These mashed potatoes are so delicious!!! I just made it in preparation for our St Patrick's Day family feast. I had to put some aside to have for dinner tonight! The only minor change is that I cook my potatoes in salted water with garlic and some chicken broth (or I use bouillon cube if I don't have stock handy). I plan to add some crumbled bacon on top for the meat lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I have been making this dish for 30 years. I add fried bacon to the top for a little texture. First dish to disappear at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States