Irish Potato and Chive Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is one of my most favorite ways to make mashed potatoes. I like to add a little sauteed fresh minced garlic, too. Whenever I make this, there's NEVER any leftovers. NOTE: This is a great base for colcannon, too. Just steam your cabbage and cook your bacon to a crisp and crumble, then fold the cabbage and bacon in. It's seriously heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
VERY delicious. I didn't change anything. My husband is a huge potato loving guy and loved it. I did cover the casserole for the first 20 min and took the cover off for the remaining 10 min. my oven tends to over bake and I didn't want it to be dried out. I served it with corned beef instead of the usual boiled potatoes. Will be a new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was a big hit. I substituted two 24oz packages of refrigerated mashed potatoes instead of mashing my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
So good! Cooked exactly as recipe says, came out a bit watery for my liking but tasted great nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome casserole. I made this last night and baked it today for Easter dinner. We always have potato casserole with hashbrowns and cream of chicken soup... you all know which one I'm talking about. I thought I'd try something different this year and I'm so glad I did. This rocked and everyone said they want this casserole from now on!! Only change I made was adding 1/4 cup crumbled bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I don't know what it is that makes it so, but there's something about taking relatively ordinary mashed potatoes and baking them that transforms them into something extraordinary. Hubs said this is remiminscent of what you'd you'd get in fine restaurants. Since I was making this for just the two of us I piped the potatoes with a large open star tip into 6 oz. ramekins which made this elegant as well as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I loved it, husband loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was easy. Would also be good with a layer of cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Absolutely disgracefully delicious. In a pathetic attempt to make it less horrible for you, I halve the amount of cream cheese. This then allows me to justify sprinkling a couple of handfuls of grated extra-sharp Cheddar cheese on top. Plan on making it this Thanksgiving as it will HORRIFY my health-conscious MIL. Heh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I have been making this dish for 30 years. I add fried bacon to the top for a little texture. First dish to disappear at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Absolutely the best potatoes. Perfect to make ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States