Irish Peanut Butter Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
The first time I made potato candy (over 50 years ago) I used a large potato and ended with enough candy to feed a crowd. My grandmother told me I should have used a tangerine-sized potato and add confectioners' sugar until the mixture resembled pie crust dough. This makes plenty of delicious candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
My grandmother made this candy for her eight kids before the depression and my dad passed it on to his three kids. Our children are now teaching their kids...what fun! Kids think it is such a goofy recipe but they love to help make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I have been making this for 70 years but never knew it was called Irish since I am German! We all love it and even use food coloring at Christmas time to give it either red or green!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I make this for my sons class every year & this past year he did a report on Ireland & had to bring in a food, so I made this, most kids love it, b/c they don't know what's In it... It's fairly easy & to make it festive, you can add food coloring or sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by star71

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
My Mom made this when I was a kid & I'm 60 now. Still a big hit in my family. Somtimes Mom would add a thin layer of grape jelly or strawberry jam on top of the peanut butter before rolling it up. It's simple, easy & tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragon52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Advance, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I have a similar recipe, without the peanut butter. We make small potatoe shaped pieces and roll in cinnamon. A traditional gift given to my kids from my mother
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was easy and fun to make, thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I have made this exact recipe my whole life, it's a holiday tradition in our house. The secret is not using too much potato. If your potato is too big, you'll end up using so much confectioner's sugar. I know it takes a whole box usually, but instead of measuring it out, I just keep mixing a little more in at a time until I achieve the dough. You absolutely have to be a little flexible with this, and not get hung up on exact measurement with the sugar. Just add it gradually. I agree that it is very sweet, that's why I like to use chunky peanut butter, and maybe sprinkle in a dash of sea salt on finished pieces for that salty/sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I love this candy! My great Granny used to make this. I've got to make some more now :PPP It's fun to make and fun to eat....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lambertfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I used this recipe and made two kinds of candy from it, the first I added green food coloring and made as recipe suggests, rolled up, chilled and sliced. I was a bit short on powdered suger so ended up using some (quite a bit actually) corn starch to finish it off. The candy was not overpoweringly sweet this way and still tasted good! The second candy I shaped into irregular, potato shaped balls, rolled them in a mixture of equal parts cinnamon and cocoa then pressed in tiny pieces of almond "eyes" Cutest potato, potato candies you ever saw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States