Irish Peanut Butter Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
The first time I made potato candy (over 50 years ago) I used a large potato and ended with enough candy to feed a crowd. My grandmother told me I should have used a tangerine-sized potato and add confectioners' sugar until the mixture resembled pie crust dough. This makes plenty of delicious candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I have a similar recipe, without the peanut butter. We make small potatoe shaped pieces and roll in cinnamon. A traditional gift given to my kids from my mother
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was never a favorite of mine, but hubby and kids love it. Like someone else said - I never knew it was Irish. I was always told it was all my grandmother could afford for sweets. We always made it by using leftover mashed potatoes. May be a little richer with the cream and butter in the potatoes. Nothing could be easier to make and fun for the kids to help with. Can't wait to teach my new grandson how to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I have been making this for 70 years but never knew it was called Irish since I am German! We all love it and even use food coloring at Christmas time to give it either red or green!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
My Mom made this when I was a kid & I'm 60 now. Still a big hit in my family. Somtimes Mom would add a thin layer of grape jelly or strawberry jam on top of the peanut butter before rolling it up. It's simple, easy & tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragon52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Advance, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
My grandmother made this candy for her eight kids before the depression and my dad passed it on to his three kids. Our children are now teaching their kids...what fun! Kids think it is such a goofy recipe but they love to help make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah Prather Hanley
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I really like these cookies but find them too sweet, sort of like peanut butter fudge. My son said they taste like a peanut butter cup minus the chocolate. A friend suggested adding cocoa to cut the sweetness. You could also consider adding dried milk to reduce the sugar as well. Thanks for the unique recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Prather Hanley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niwot, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucas77
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was way to SWEET!!!! Only had a Few Bites & Tossed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucas77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I tried this and it never became a dough, just runny. I even added extra confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I make this for my sons class every year & this past year he did a report on Ireland & had to bring in a food, so I made this, most kids love it, b/c they don't know what's In it... It's fairly easy & to make it festive, you can add food coloring or sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by star71

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States