Irish Lassie's Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very tasty recipe. Because they were optional, I didn't add the peppers. Hubby and I ate almost every bite. Served it over baby red potatoes, and corn on the cob on the side. Wonderful balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Great Recipe. I will definty make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This has to be one of the best liver and onion recipes I've ever used. Even my 11 yr old son w/ autism loves this! The only change I made was to leave out the bell peppers as he does not like them. Thanks beadanurse for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Onion gravy was spectacular...used all ingredients listed. Disappointed with the liver...I usually quick saute my liver...this time followed direction and left it in as I added the sauce to thicken...liver was tough. Next time will prepare seperate and serve with this delicious gravy/sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I make this all the time and love it. I even tried it on one of my friends who is so not into Liver. He ate it and then asked me to confirm whether or not it was Liver. He couldn't even tell. I love Liver but do not like the taste it has if you don't season it right. This recipe covers all the basics. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was my first time cooking liver, and I picked this recipe for guidance. I didn't have bell peppers, so it was just liver and onions. I had a small salad and biscuits with it. It was awesome! I was wondering if I would get the "bad smell" people talk about when cooking liver, but I never got it. It smelled great! Husband approved, and the biscuits were great for mopping up leftover gravy. I will definitely try this again sometime with the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
For folks who say the liver was a bit tough, be sure you are using calve's liver that has been skinnex & deveined. There are a lot of tough, thick livers in the meat cases these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
If you soak the liver in milk about an hour b4 cooking it takes some of the stong liver tast away. Other then that this recipe is spot on yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Oh My Goodness...I recently found an awesome deal on calf's liver and bought about twenty pounds to freeze (yes, we love liver)so I've been experimenting with all the liver recipes here. Well, I think I have found my favorite!! This is so delicious. I was skeptical since I have never made liver without a flour breading or with mushrooms but skeptic I am no more! My 15 year old daughter is the only one in our house that claimed to hate liver and refused to eat it but when she reluctantly tasted this, she declared she now loves it and has asked for this again already. We are planning her sweet 16 party and her best friend was over here and when I asked them what they wanted for supper, she asked me to make this for her friend!!! That is a true testament to the success for a recipe. The absolute only change I made and recommend to this great recipe is to soak the liver in milk for an hour or so to take out the stereotypical strong bitter flavor. I actually love that flavor since I grew up eating it that way but my family prefers the milder taste. Thank you beadanurse for passing this gem onto all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Boiling Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
with thin sliced liver you must subtract on cooking time (1/2 of stated time). otherwise, the dish was okay, but i've done better and will go back to my regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States