Irish Lassie's Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was my first time cooking liver, and I picked this recipe for guidance. I didn't have bell peppers, so it was just liver and onions. I had a small salad and biscuits with it. It was awesome! I was wondering if I would get the "bad smell" people talk about when cooking liver, but I never got it. It smelled great! Husband approved, and the biscuits were great for mopping up leftover gravy. I will definitely try this again sometime with the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
For folks who say the liver was a bit tough, be sure you are using calve's liver that has been skinnex & deveined. There are a lot of tough, thick livers in the meat cases these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
tom loves it. i soaked in milk as instructed but could soak longer or soak in salt water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Flores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This has to be one of the best liver and onion recipes I've ever used. Even my 11 yr old son w/ autism loves this! The only change I made was to leave out the bell peppers as he does not like them. Thanks beadanurse for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I make this all the time and love it. I even tried it on one of my friends who is so not into Liver. He ate it and then asked me to confirm whether or not it was Liver. He couldn't even tell. I love Liver but do not like the taste it has if you don't season it right. This recipe covers all the basics. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I like liver any way it's prepared. From raw to burned but this is by far the is the best liver I ever ate. I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
If you soak the liver in milk about an hour b4 cooking it takes some of the stong liver tast away. Other then that this recipe is spot on yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Amazing recipe. I got sick of liver and onions as a kid because we had it quite regularly and I'll admit I haven't had liver and onions in about 25 years till I tried this recipe and fell in love with it again. My dad enjoyed the recipe as well and said it reminded him of the way his mother made liver and onions when he was a child. I've got 2 more packs of calf liver in the freezer and i'll be using this recipe for those two packs as well Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
A great recipe for anyone with an assortment of vegetables looming in their refrigerator waiting to be tastefully used. All you need is some elbow grease and a good knife and you'll soon be enjoying a nutritious meal of one of my favorite cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattee Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Oh My Goodness...I recently found an awesome deal on calf's liver and bought about twenty pounds to freeze (yes, we love liver)so I've been experimenting with all the liver recipes here. Well, I think I have found my favorite!! This is so delicious. I was skeptical since I have never made liver without a flour breading or with mushrooms but skeptic I am no more! My 15 year old daughter is the only one in our house that claimed to hate liver and refused to eat it but when she reluctantly tasted this, she declared she now loves it and has asked for this again already. We are planning her sweet 16 party and her best friend was over here and when I asked them what they wanted for supper, she asked me to make this for her friend!!! That is a true testament to the success for a recipe. The absolute only change I made and recommend to this great recipe is to soak the liver in milk for an hour or so to take out the stereotypical strong bitter flavor. I actually love that flavor since I grew up eating it that way but my family prefers the milder taste. Thank you beadanurse for passing this gem onto all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States