Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I pulled together a variation on this recipe from others on this site, trying to recreate a dish my Irish mother made often when I was a child. Unfortunately for our family, our mother was a wonderful cook, but did not write down any recipes for later generations. Rating this as best I can on the ingredients and methods I used, I'm giving 4 stars. Thanks for the recipe! I didn't quite get the same flavour/texture of mom's recipe, but I came close. Trying again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this for St. Patrick's Day party and people raved about it. It was delicious. My only complaint would be the cost. It was $40 just for the 6 pounds of lamb. I would probably reduce the amount of lamb to 1/3 less to reduce the cost. I think it would still be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I had corned beef in the crock pot, so I had to take the old-fashioned stovetop aproach. The ingredients for this dish are a little off. I can't imagine trying to get all of these ingredients into one pot for stew. I was fine with one pound of bacon, 2 lbs of lamb stew meat, 3 carrots, 2 onions (instead of 3), and 2 potatoes. The stew was a little watery, so I wound up taking out some of the liquid, whisking in about a tablespoon of cornstarch, and that did the trick. Of course, the recipe cooked longer than expected to soften the potatoes and carrots. I also added 1 tsp garlic powder to the flour, because I'm accustomed to doing that for all my stews. This was tasty, but it takes a few tweaks to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katielovesreading
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Ohmygod, this stew is fantastic! I'm gonna have leftovers for days :D the prep time is definitely way off, expect at least an hour for bacon to cook and browning the lamb. Couldn't find beef stock at the store so I substituted with beef broth instead, tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
prepared in large pot 3 days before xmas, put pot/stew in refrigerator (truthfully, put pot in cold new england breezeway) and returned to stove xmas afternoon (low for a couple hrs)...dang, did this taste GOOD!!! a true hit with the fam, and with me cuz' i wasn't bustin' my butt in the kitchen xmas day! i put some lamb bones in for flavor (marrow....yummmm) made a super rich stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This dish was the best I have done with lamb in a long time. It turned. Out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crucito Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My family has begun a tradition of International Christmas Eve. We Have done Germany, Poland and this year, Ireland. We chose this Irish Lamb Stew as our main course. WOW! It was absolutely wonderful. The lamb shoulder was the perfect choice as it has a more mild, less gamey flavor. If possible, I'd ask the butcher to cut off as much fat as possible. I chose to add approximately 3 pounds of potatoes to this as many Lamb Stew recipes have more equivalent to that. I loved the wine flavoring. I paired this with a homemade Irish soda bread. It was a hit. Thank you for your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I added cornstarch to thicken it up a bit...served with Irish Soda bread...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and love it. It makes me feel like the Irish girl I am. I will be making this for my children one day and look forward to passing it along. I did half the recipe because it is only two of us and it still came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe is the bomb and I agree it does taste even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiningstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Browns Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States