Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
prepared in large pot 3 days before xmas, put pot/stew in refrigerator (truthfully, put pot in cold new england breezeway) and returned to stove xmas afternoon (low for a couple hrs)...dang, did this taste GOOD!!! a true hit with the fam, and with me cuz' i wasn't bustin' my butt in the kitchen xmas day! i put some lamb bones in for flavor (marrow....yummmm) made a super rich stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This dish was the best I have done with lamb in a long time. It turned. Out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crucito Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My family has begun a tradition of International Christmas Eve. We Have done Germany, Poland and this year, Ireland. We chose this Irish Lamb Stew as our main course. WOW! It was absolutely wonderful. The lamb shoulder was the perfect choice as it has a more mild, less gamey flavor. If possible, I'd ask the butcher to cut off as much fat as possible. I chose to add approximately 3 pounds of potatoes to this as many Lamb Stew recipes have more equivalent to that. I loved the wine flavoring. I paired this with a homemade Irish soda bread. It was a hit. Thank you for your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I added cornstarch to thicken it up a bit...served with Irish Soda bread...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and love it. It makes me feel like the Irish girl I am. I will be making this for my children one day and look forward to passing it along. I did half the recipe because it is only two of us and it still came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe is the bomb and I agree it does taste even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiningstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Browns Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Next time I would reduce the bacon to 7 oz and I only used 2 lbs of Lamb, but you would be ok with 1.5 lbs. This would bring the cost down and decrease the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I have to say that 20mins prep time is only possible if you have 20 helpers in the kitchen! Give it 40mins perhaps 8 ) I omitted the alcohol. Will see how it taste like tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac Sia
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this for St. Patrick's Day 2 years ago. Ever since then, my husband wants me to make it for every special occasion. Not to mention the guests we had over for the meal have repeatedly told me that this is the BEST meal they have ever eaten. To sum it up, it's a big hit. One change I made was to use beer instead of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this meal. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and made this in a crockpot. I let it cook for about 8 hours and the meat was plenty tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States