Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Yummy!! Very tasty, made half the recipe ( but used the same amount of potatoes) It's just perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Sitting here in Wicklow Ireland and looking through recipes for dinner tomorrow. I usually look here as I can find something a wee bit different to the usual fare on Irish websites. I cooked this with the wine which I found odd putting into s stew but hey I did say I wanted something different to Irish food. The recipe is perfect but God the wine ruins it. Leave it out. Traditionally we don't put any alcohol into stews. Stews came from a time when people had very little and if they had a bottle of guinness etc they certianly wouldnt have wasted it on cooking. Wine was something the Irish never had accept the upper class british here at the time so that deffinitly wouldnt have been in a stew. As I said the reipe is perfect but leave out the bitter wine and its gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I am making this for my boyfriend's birthday tomorrow. When he was over in Ireland,he had a lamb stew that he LOVED. I figured what great way to celebrate by bringing Ireland to our dining room. I do have a few complaints. First, I was unable to get shoulder. I had to get the leg of lamb and it was a pain to prep (and it cost me $65 for 6lbs). Second, the prep time needs to be elevated. It took me about an hour to get the lamb cut, the bacon browned and everything together. I had a bite of it though and I will say, it's pretty good so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vjmills1985

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wells, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I don't like lamb. AT ALL. Not even this recipe could change my mind. But DH loved it and he LIKES lamb, so that's why I'm giving this recipe 5 stars (he really raved). I have since made this with pot roast and was impressed with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Yummy! My husband said it was the best lamb dish I have ever made. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Tasted delicious! And leftovers tasted just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brookekessler

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msudawg85
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Good recipe, except you can dispense with the bacon. Added basil and rosemary and juice of 1 lemon. Used red wine vinegar instead of white wine. Unless you want a gamey dish, I suggest you marinate lamb using marinade mix and lots of garlic the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I skipped the bacon and wine and just threw everything in a crockpot. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yobachus
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
FREAKIN AWESOME!! I halved the recipe, and used a few extra cups of water and broth to keep it from boiling down to nothing and so that the veggies would have some liquid to soften in... :P but apart from that, ABSOLUTE GOLD!!! make sure to use BONELESS lamb shoulder (as suggested) for eating ease. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yobachus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arima, Arima Borough, Trinidad And Tobago
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States