Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was pretty good. I used an emulsion blender to thicken it up a bit-- just put the blender stick in the pot and puree about a quarter or half of the soup to make it more "stewy". Lamb was nice and tender and it had a good flavor. It was definitely better as leftovers, so if you have time to make it ahead of time, I'd recommend that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I added mushrooms and celery as well as a small amount of fresh rosemary from the garden. Turned out fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was the best stew I have ever had. Beautiful! I had to modify it for cooking in the crock pot but kept the ingredients pretty much the same, although modified for 6 servings instead of 10. I fried up the bacon and browned the lamb before putting it in the crockpot. Half an hour before serving I could see it needed thickening up I removed two cups of the liquid and melted 60 grams of butter, added 1/4 cup of flour and cooked for a minute before slowly adding the two cups of liquid. Once this was smooth I added it back into the stew and it worked a treat. This was a seriously delicious meal that will be added to the family recipe book. I did put some leftover in the fridge to see if it really does get better with age (hard to believe!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Good recipe, but I felt that something was missing . Needs a spice if some sorts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was great. Borrowed some hints from others and other recipes. Added the veges 1 hour before it was supposed to be done. Also thickened toward the end and added fresh chopped parsley. Thanks will make it again...goodbye corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Pretty flavorful. I really enjoyed the lamb. The bacon is pretty prominent, so you may want to cut back. Makes it less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
made this tonight, but with beef. turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I also used stew meat for this recipe because I was too cheap to spend $30 for a lamb shoulder not knowing if the recipe was any good. It was excellent and will definately try with lamb next time. I added some flour and water at the end to thicken it up. Also when it says to add the carrots, potatos and onions, do not add the potatos. Wait until the carrots and onions are soft and then add the potatos. The potatos cook much faster then the others. Flavor was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Great recipe, I make it every year for St. Paddy's day. I scale it down a bit- 3/4lb of bacon and closer to 2-3lbs of lamb. I keep the vegetable and spice quantities the same. Prep time is a bit longer than 2 minutes, especially if you have to cut the meat, but it is so worth it. I make enough to freeze and eat all year long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
OMG is pretty much how I sum up this delicious recipe. I loved it. The taste was something to behold. I used turkey bacon instead but it still came out great. I have already shared this with two coworkers. Mmmmmmm mmmmmm good!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States