Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
We actually had an overcast day here in So Calif. This was the perfect meal with potato rolls. I also modified this with a stick of celery, four small potatoes, chardonnay, precooked bacon which I had rendered the fat off already. Although the beer instead of wine sounded good, Im not a beer person and preferred the wine taste. The recipe was easy. A novice would realize that carrots and potatoes take longer. I'd hope so anyway. Good tasting stew! Next time I may use parsnips. and chayote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was good and easy. Did not use lamb. Used a cheap cut of beef and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
The flavor is excellent. The meat comes out tender and delicious (it is worth taking the time to brown the lamb before adding it to the stew!). My gripe with this recipe is that the directions are VERY unclear and hard to follow. Also, following them as written is a bit dangerous. If you drop the lamb directly into the bacon grease while it is over the hot eye, you will get bad burns from hot grease flying all over the place. Trust me on that. I agree with other reviewers that the potatoes and carrots need to be added sooner to get tender and really soak up the stew flavor. Like many reviewers, I cut way back on the meat. The listed amounts seemed both excessive and expensive. It came out fine with 12oz of bacon and 2.5lbs of lamb leg. I used the listed amounts of all other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Giving this one a 4-star because stews aren't my favorite, but this one is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My husband said that this was the best thing I had ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Very tasty. Made Irish Soda Bread I for St Patty's Day 2014.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
What meal. I did it in the crockpot, a must try. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
OMG - I cook a lot and was looking for something different to make with St. Patrick's Day in mind. This recipe is really great and made the house smell wonderful. Both hubby and I give it 5 stars. It does take longer than 20 minutes for prep...more like 45 mins., but well worth it! Super market didn't have boneless shoulder so I purchased bone-in lamb shoulder pieces for stew, cut off most of the fat then chopped meat into bite-sized pieces also using a few bones with stubborn meat on it. It added extra flavor and whatever's left on the bone easily pulled off and got tossed back in the pot before serving. Used beer to deglaze pan after cooking onions and garlic instead of water. After initial 1-1/2 hours, I cooked for 45 minutes after adding veggies and used Guiness beer instead of wine. Since it was just two of us, I halved the recipe and it worked out fine. Serve with a hearty bread! (We had some marble rye-yum!) Slainte, Danny O'Flaugherty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arlenya
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this for our Saint Patty's meal. Meat was tender. I used Guinness instead of the white wine and I half the recipe. Everyone loved it! Simple yet delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Thanks Danny! I used your recipe for a St Patrick's Dinner Dance fund raiser. I cooked for 100 people and everyone loved it. I highly recommend this recipe. You saved my bacon! LOL. Gary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States