Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Very tasty. Made Irish Soda Bread I for St Patty's Day 2014.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
What meal. I did it in the crockpot, a must try. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
OMG - I cook a lot and was looking for something different to make with St. Patrick's Day in mind. This recipe is really great and made the house smell wonderful. Both hubby and I give it 5 stars. It does take longer than 20 minutes for prep...more like 45 mins., but well worth it! Super market didn't have boneless shoulder so I purchased bone-in lamb shoulder pieces for stew, cut off most of the fat then chopped meat into bite-sized pieces also using a few bones with stubborn meat on it. It added extra flavor and whatever's left on the bone easily pulled off and got tossed back in the pot before serving. Used beer to deglaze pan after cooking onions and garlic instead of water. After initial 1-1/2 hours, I cooked for 45 minutes after adding veggies and used Guiness beer instead of wine. Since it was just two of us, I halved the recipe and it worked out fine. Serve with a hearty bread! (We had some marble rye-yum!) Slainte, Danny O'Flaugherty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arlenya
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this for our Saint Patty's meal. Meat was tender. I used Guinness instead of the white wine and I half the recipe. Everyone loved it! Simple yet delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Thanks Danny! I used your recipe for a St Patrick's Dinner Dance fund raiser. I cooked for 100 people and everyone loved it. I highly recommend this recipe. You saved my bacon! LOL. Gary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great recipe. I cooked the whole dish in a 5qt dutch oven. Could only find two packages of shoulder chops and one package of loin chops at the store, adding up to slightly three pounds. Therefore, I also halved the recipe. I trimmed all the meat from the bone and cut to bite size pieces. I used only a half-pound of bacon, and so, had to add a quarter cup of olive oil to finish browning/burning the meat cubes. For simmering, I added about three-quarters of a cup of water. During the simmering of the meat, I put the largest bones in the pot with the meat and then picked them out before adding the vegetables, Guiness, thyme and bay leaf. This meal trumped our usual corned beef St.Patricks meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mild Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Used stout instead of wine ,veg stock rather then beef stock -and added extra carrots and potatoes as I am not a big onion fan . This was by far the best stew I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I would change a lot of things here. I don't cook with sugar, and that sweet taste in the stew is unbearable for me. It tastes more sweet than salty. I was horrified by the bacon fat. I would definetely make this again, but I will not add the sugar, I will use olive oil instead of bacon fat, I will remove the bacon all together, and use less flour if not any. I guess it will no longer be an Irish stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Truly a labour or love. So worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great stew made exactly as advised
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States