Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
My partner is a Buddhist so I substituted chicken broth for the beef broth. Added a tablespoon of wosteshire sauce. It was better than I expected. This is one of my favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
love it should half the recipe for two people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I had a couple of lamb shoulder chops leftover from another night's dinner and decided to make this recipe work with Already cooked lamb. I made the bacon and used the fat to make a roux then added the cooked lamb that I had cut into bite sized pieces along with the vegetables. I let it simmer for about 45 minutes which was perfect for the vegetables to cook through and still have a bit of crunch to them. I also added in a beer because I really like that flavor profile for an Irish Stew. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Atheer
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This dish is delicious! I had some lamb and I wanted to make something different. I made some changes tho it turned great. I substituted bacon with turkey bacon, because we don't eat pork and I didn't add wine or beer either because we don't drink alcohol. I added some green beens to for the color and for greens.. And because we were really hungry I minimized the simmering time for 40 minutes then I added the vegetables for 20. The meat was soft and tender, I'm sure if I went all the way it will be better. Yet it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
2nd time I have made this. 1st part of recipe I placed in crock pot over night, let sit in fridge to bring the fat up, removed as much as I could than placed on stove added the vegetables, AND on advise from one of the reviewers used a guinness extra stout beer. This is my go to lamb stew. The lamb I used, bought a whole lamb and had it butchered and wrapped at local meat processing plant. Used the lamb stew meat. Love the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Parmenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
LOVED IT, but the prep time is a bit longer, the act of browning lamb in bacon fat is like sex:), my kitchen smelled unbelievable. I think you will all enjoy. It's a great meal to cook on a rainy Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was/is really delicious. The following substitutions were made. Costco leg of lamb instead of shoulder. Rice flour instead of wheat flour and increased amount by 1/4 cup. Rich chicken stock instead of beef stock. Purple sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes. Red wine instead of white. Addedd a pound of mushrooms. Simmered for 55 minutes at end instead of 20. Added more salt and pepper at end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
We actually had an overcast day here in So Calif. This was the perfect meal with potato rolls. I also modified this with a stick of celery, four small potatoes, chardonnay, precooked bacon which I had rendered the fat off already. Although the beer instead of wine sounded good, Im not a beer person and preferred the wine taste. The recipe was easy. A novice would realize that carrots and potatoes take longer. I'd hope so anyway. Good tasting stew! Next time I may use parsnips. and chayote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was good and easy. Did not use lamb. Used a cheap cut of beef and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States