Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Absolutely fabulous! Couldn't get any good looking lamb other than lamb chops, so I substituted beef stew meat. Turned out so great! I also used 1/2 cup of Guiness instead of water and left out the sugar all together (I forgot it). So good! I served this up with the Irresistible Irish Soda Bread from this site. Made for a delicious St. Patty's Day! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of red meat stews but this one is pretty decent. It hides that ever so different, musty lamb taste rather well but I felt so odd adding beef stock to this...since that makes it a beef stew in my opinion... My kids loved it but I'm sticking to the American-Irish tradition of corn beef & cabbage next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I cut the recipe in half, but only used 2 lbs lamb (instead of 3). I could not find boneless lamb shoulder; I had to use bone-in shoulder. I used chopped up pancetta for the bacon, and added some chopped celery. I followed the recipe exactly (minus the minor changes above), and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very good stew. Next time I may add more herbs like parsley and rosemary. My teens did not ask for seconds as they usually do when I make beef stew.It could be they didn't care for lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great base recipe - Here are my modifications: i rubbed the diced lamb with a mixture of salt & pepper, dried parsley and Herbs de Provence, then dredged in flour. After browning the lamb in the bacon drippings and sauteeing the onion & garlic mixture, i deglazed the pan briefly with 1/3 cup Cabernet and combined the all of the ingredients in a crock pot. I also replaced half of the water in the beef stock with Guiness, and added 1 diced turnip and 2 diced parsinps. I simmered the stew in a crock pot for ~6 hrs on low. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Very good. Didn't have enough beef stock, so threw in some chicken stock to get enough liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I just moved to Paris with my husband but we enjoy celebrating St. Patrick's Day so I thought, why not make a true Irish Stew? And this recipe appeared and so I just had to make it. I can only say that I've never had lamb as good as what I bought from the boucherie here in Paris - the lamb even days later just MELTS in your mouth. I ended up 1/2-ing the recipe because frankly, between two people there was more than enough even for two nights leftovers, and we don't have a massive pot here in Paris. Ended up posting this recipe to FB because it was too good not to share. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This stew is outstanding! It takes a lot of time to cut up everything, but it is well worth the work. I took great care in trimming the fat from the lamb, and there was no visible fat on the stew after it chilled. Our neighborhood restaurant makes their stew using sour cream, so the next day, for the remaining half of the original stew recipe, I beat 12 oz. of sour cream with 1/2 cup of flour, then added about 3 cups of the warmed stew to that mixture and beat it well to mix thoroughly, then added that back to the remaining pot of stew. I let it boil for 5 minutes, and it was a superb twist, with a little more zip, as the flavor had mellowed from the original recipe day earlier. Thank you, Danny O'Flaugherty for a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I haven't tried this recipe but familiar with ingredients. If you really want to elevate this stew use GOAT meat! Find for a Hispanic market. Buy a 3 lb. leg, and ask to have the meat cut off the bone into large pieces. Cut into 1 1/2" pieces at home. (It will shrink upon cooking) This is a KILLER stew if you like full flavored meals. And do I need to tell you to add some red pepper flakes? Duh. Hint for future: make a goat curry and you will be transported to another galaxy. The connasewer does not lie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I won an Irish Stew cook-off with this recipe. I did add celery and guniess (28oz) instead of wine, and I doubled everything but the meat. Also only did about 1/2 the onion, it just seemed like it would be too much otherwise. Lamb was REALLY expensive. I'll have to try another meat the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States