Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I won an Irish Stew cook-off with this recipe. I did add celery and guniess (28oz) instead of wine, and I doubled everything but the meat. Also only did about 1/2 the onion, it just seemed like it would be too much otherwise. Lamb was REALLY expensive. I'll have to try another meat the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Out of this world delicious! I won't save this just for St. Patrick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Very good. I followed the recipe as stated, except I used Guiness instead of wine. The lamb was so tender and flavorful! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittylover25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Delicious!! I love the hidden white wine taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was very good. I made a reduced quantity as calculated by the "servings" customizer, so perhaps I didn't have enough liquid for the quantity of food in the stock pot as it seemed to boil out almost completely. Like others, I traded the wine for Guinness, and even at 4 servings I added almost a full can to replenish the liquid. This did add to the flavour, I'm sure. Heating it the following day (following the advice posted here) turned the stew into ... well, less of a stew and more of a mush. I don't think I'll be waiting a full day again before eating it. I made pumpernickel buns to use as bread bowls, and the flavour of the dark bread and caraway seed went very well with the stew, so that's a combo I will stick with. I'm going to wait for cooler weather, and for lamb to be on sale before I make this again, but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was good, but with some modifications I think it would be 5-stars. I would use less lamb, just because it is so expensive. I would also use half the Onions/carrots/potatoes called for (I had to use less by default, I couldn't fit it all in my crockpot!). Maybe even just use one onion instead of three (it was a little overpowering with 3 onions). To make it healthier, I would probably forgo the bacon next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was really good! I've had this before in a resturant that I waitressed at, and their stew had a much thicker consistency...almost a gravy. I was disappointed it didn't turn out like that, but it was still really good! Next time maybe I'll try adding a packet of gravy to the mix and see how it comes out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was excellent and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imedlen
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was an excellent lamb stew recipe! (As long as you are not trying to watch your figure! LOL!) My family loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BoysMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States