Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
delicious! we served it in bread bowls which was a lot of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthandwes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This is one of the best stews I have ever tasted. Great flavors, and it is best prepared the day before. I have served it at several dinner parties and it is always a wonderful hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I have to say that I usually am a fan of a thicker more heavy beef broth based stew, but this was really great! The lamb was melting in your mouth and the extra broth was excellent with a crusty bread to soak it up. I bought a better quality smoked bacon and added leeks in with the vegetables, but will definetely make this again. I also added the veggies earlier and threw in some mushrooms in the last half hour. I did, however, find it to be more oily on top than I would like, so after refrigeration, I took most of the fat off the top. It re-heated even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desiree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Very tasty. I halved the recipe and used Guinness as well and then tossed everything in a crock pot for 6 hours. The first 3 hours on high and then switched it to low. Also added a few stalks of celery chopped up, and maple syrup instead of sugar, just for fun. It was very tasty with the irish soda bread to clean the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this on a cold day and served it to a large group of guests, along with some good crusty sourdough. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Awsome stew!! I fed this to a few friends on St patricks day this year and now its all they ever want when we have pot lucks. I almost wish it it didn't go over so well lamb gets expensive when your buying it all the time! I did add slightly more wine then the recipie calls for 1 and 1/3 cups of Cabet pini Grigio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made this for my boyfriend, who has never eaten lamb. He loved it! And so did I ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This went over really for St Patrick's Day. I did play with the recipe a bit though. Instead of wine I used Guiness and I didn't take the time to brown the meat because I was making so much I didn't have time. It still turned out fabulously and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This is absolutely the best Irish Stew recipe I've tried, and I've tried quite a few. The only changes I made were to cut the recipe in half (wish I hadn't as it was sooo good though) and to use 1 cup of Guinness beer instead of the white wine. I also did this in the crock pot. So easy! I might try to incorporate some pearl barley in there next time as my former favourite recipe uses it. Now my only problem will be to find a big enough crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 121-130 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States