Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I would have loved to try this recipe with the lamb but my husband hates lamb. I used steak instead and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was really great. I made it for Easter dinner last year. It takes some time, but I did cook it in the slow cooker, which made it nice for the actual cooking time and did give it a nice long time for flavors to blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was not a hit with the family. It was a lot of work for them not to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I prepared this exactly as described, right down to chilling and defatting. I was reheating it the enxt day on the stove and my inattention allowed the gravy to caramelize on the bottom of a cast iron pan. It wasn't burnt but close. I scraped it all into a plastic container and refrigerated it once more. That simple error elevated this to a whole new level of silkiness. The gravy was supple, spoon coating thick and the entire pot was consumed by one person over 3 meals. It is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Recipe sounds delicious, when I made mine, I kinda did my own thing. No wine, no sugar, no thyme or stock. I used water, rosemary plus what he mention. But the crucial thing for me was to skim the fat. It improved the flavor greatly. I also cut up half a pound of chuck steak and cook it with the lamb. Total cook time about 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
probably the best stew i've ever made - despite forgetting the white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdeloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I give this Irish Lamb Stew 5 stars for taste, but the instructions are lackluster. Are you serious that step 4 "for 20 minutes until vegetables are tender" are correct"? Carrots take much long to make tender in a pre-boiling pot of water alone. Sorry, unless you expect raw crunchy carrots and potato bits step 4 needs to start within 30 minutes after step 3. Secondly, the prep time is not 20 minutes. I am marking this a 2 out 5 Stars for the prep time alone. The taste is incredible, but the aggravation of making this dish is not worth the trouble. This recipe failed for me as explained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Delicious flavor though I was worried about putting in 3 whole onions and only 3 potatoes. I used less thyme because I don't care for it and skipped the bay leaves because I didn't have them. I also used only 3-4 pounds of lamb. I got the lamb on sale but still cost quite a bit for that much and it seemed to be more fat and bones than there was meat. It was very difficult and time consuming trying to cut all the fat off and the meat off the bones. The whole recipe was quite greasy with the bacon too and I scooped off the layer of fat before reheating. If I make this recipe again, I will NOT be using lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Made this for St. Paddy's day this year. Very hearty and good. Lots of leftovers. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States