Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I really like this and the kid did too (as much as anything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I made it the night before and it came out perfectly! I only used 3 lbs of lamb and 1 lb of bacon and that was plenty. I didn't have too much trouble with the "stew juice" being too thin, but if you want it really thick like a gravy you'd need to make that change. I did throw in an extra potato too. For next time, I would use 5 potatos and a couple stalks of celery. This won't be a very regular meal as lamb is VERY expensive, but I will look forward to it when I do make it again!!! Thanks Danny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Made this for a St. Patrick's party and it was a HUGE hit! Like some of the other reviewers, I did swap out the wine for an equal amount of Guinness and was very pleased with the taste. Also, I made this the day before, and then reheated it in the oven at 300 degrees for about an hour and a half before I served it. Really, just fantastic - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Sounds pretty good as it is - but - for a traditional Irish lamb stew, drop the wine but add a handfull of pearl barley. This latter ingredient really "makes" it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Prep time needs to be listed longer than 20 minutes~! My time spent between the bacon and browing all the meat was at least an hour. I haven't gotten the stew finished yet. Still simmering but it smells wonderful. I will take the advice and put the veggies in way more than 20 minutes ahead of time so they will be tender. I am an experienced cook but I have to say that prep time has taken I didn't have boneless shoulder but got some sholder chops and had some lamb stew meat so we shall see (I'll be back when it's done!) I even flowered and browned the bones from the sholder as anything simmered with bones gets a wonderful flavor. Now I hope I find the bones before dear hubby bites into one by mistake :~) I'm not using the wine. Don't like wine and don't want that taste in the stew so that's the only change I will make. More later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Always thought I hated stew....I now stand corrected we made this for St Paddy's Day with boneless leg of lamb cubed cooked it early in the day let it cool then warmed it up later with the veggies. My husband who's Gparent were Irish said his eyes were smiling! only additions we made were sprig of rosemary and fresh thyme will make this again next March 17th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
double the meat, use irish dark beer instead of wine & let it slow cook for 12 hours, served with irish soda bread....amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great Recipe! I followed it pretty closely. Only made the following changes. Used 4 1/2 lbs of lamb (b/c it's all I had on hand) deglazed using an additional 1/2 cup of white wine, I used a chardonay. Left out the potatoes and subbed more carrots and onions because I was serving this on top of colcannon. And I didn't have thyme so I threw in some sage instead. It was delicious! My husband that doesn't like lamb even loved it. Uploading picture soon. The changes I made were out of necessity, because we don't live close to a store so I'm sure it is delicious the way that the recipe is written also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Pretty good. Needs more spices to bring out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good St. Paddy's day dinner. Added a McCormick beef stew powdered mix, barley and left out the bacon. Adjusted everything for 1-1/2 lbs cubed lamb. Cooked for about 7 hours in a covered large cast iron covered pot (Lodge). Was very tender and I served it with Irish Soda Bread and a good red wine (already had my 3 guinness's)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States