Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Absolutely phenominal. The only change I made was using cream sherry since I forgot I was out of regular white wine. A keeper, the boyfriend is already asking when I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Absolutely wonderful stew! Delicious the first day but even better the second. I used a boneless roast and it was perfect, I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for a recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Absolutely great flavor! And a nice consistency too! I added all of the vegetables when I added the stock to the lamb mixture and it turned out fine. One warning for those buying frozen bone-in lamb stew meat): major sharp, bone shards. I had to hand pick through my kids' stew to make sure they weren't going to stab themselves. Next time I will have to buy a boneless leg or shoulder (supermarket didn't have when I went looking) and cut it myself. Lesson learned! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
After reading through the reviews I used about half the amount of meat, switched Guinness for the wine and made it a day ahead of time. (prep time is WAY off---this is a whole afternoon project) My husband, the beef lover, said he liked this better than beef stew---that's sayin' somethin'! Served w/ Irish Soda bread from this site----excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I really like this and the kid did too (as much as anything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I made it the night before and it came out perfectly! I only used 3 lbs of lamb and 1 lb of bacon and that was plenty. I didn't have too much trouble with the "stew juice" being too thin, but if you want it really thick like a gravy you'd need to make that change. I did throw in an extra potato too. For next time, I would use 5 potatos and a couple stalks of celery. This won't be a very regular meal as lamb is VERY expensive, but I will look forward to it when I do make it again!!! Thanks Danny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Made this for a St. Patrick's party and it was a HUGE hit! Like some of the other reviewers, I did swap out the wine for an equal amount of Guinness and was very pleased with the taste. Also, I made this the day before, and then reheated it in the oven at 300 degrees for about an hour and a half before I served it. Really, just fantastic - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Sounds pretty good as it is - but - for a traditional Irish lamb stew, drop the wine but add a handfull of pearl barley. This latter ingredient really "makes" it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Prep time needs to be listed longer than 20 minutes~! My time spent between the bacon and browing all the meat was at least an hour. I haven't gotten the stew finished yet. Still simmering but it smells wonderful. I will take the advice and put the veggies in way more than 20 minutes ahead of time so they will be tender. I am an experienced cook but I have to say that prep time has taken I didn't have boneless shoulder but got some sholder chops and had some lamb stew meat so we shall see (I'll be back when it's done!) I even flowered and browned the bones from the sholder as anything simmered with bones gets a wonderful flavor. Now I hope I find the bones before dear hubby bites into one by mistake :~) I'm not using the wine. Don't like wine and don't want that taste in the stew so that's the only change I will make. More later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Always thought I hated stew....I now stand corrected we made this for St Paddy's Day with boneless leg of lamb cubed cooked it early in the day let it cool then warmed it up later with the veggies. My husband who's Gparent were Irish said his eyes were smiling! only additions we made were sprig of rosemary and fresh thyme will make this again next March 17th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States