Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Great recipe! I simplified this by cooking it in a crock pot for 10 hours on low. Saved time by cooking bacon, and cutting carrots the night before. Did not brown lamb, not necessary when crocking for so long. Just tossed the taters, carrots, onions,and garlic in pot. Added lamb, Then added the stock and wine mixed with spices on top of lamb. However, I did thicken with some flour; Just turned crock on high and stired for the last five to ten minutes. Made it very thick and hearty! Served it in sour dough bread bowls...It is now an Easter tradition!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
338 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I have been meaning to review this for quite awhile so here it is. This definitely deserves a 5 star and more. I started out with the 10 serving recipe and this year will start making it for 30 servings as my closest friends want it and their friends also want it. I had to buy a 20 quart stock pot so it could hold all the ingredients. The flavor is just fantastic and worth the time and effort it takes to make. I use boneless leg of lamb as none of the grocery stores I went to can get all the pounds of the lamb shoulder I need, but it still tastes great and even better after letting the flavors meld together for a few days in the refrigerator. I round it off with a few loaves of Irish Soda Bread. This makes a great gift for those friends that have already bought everything they want. Thanks Danny for a lifetime keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I wanted an authentic Irish Stew, and this was it. My family loved it, as long as I didn't tell the kids it was lamb. Teehee. I did use beer instead of wine, and I would make sure the potatoes are cubed. It's absolutely better after a few days, which I didn't think was possible. I wish lamb was less expensive, because I would make this much more often if it were. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
When I took the first taste of this stew - I about died! It was so delicious and relatively easy to make! I used just over half the amount of meat the recipe called for. There wasn't enough available at the store. It turned out perfect!! I was pleased with my results, it couldn't have been better. However, the next time I made the recipe, I used the full amount - and boy did it make a difference. It was way too much meat. I couldn't eat very much, it was too rich. I would suggest using less meat than is called for and more vegetables. This is my new cold-weather dish! When I made it for my extended family, the response was overwhelming! Even my husband - who never gets excited about any foods - was very vocal about his fondness of this dish. With his thumbs-up, I knew I had a winner. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAT CHEVRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Very good recipe. I did tweak quite a bit. Scaled recipe for 6 servings and made the following changes: 1/2 lb bacon(good bacon from meat counter) 2 lbs lamb steaks 1 onion divided 1 Tbs brown sugar no thyme 1/2 C red wine to deglaze pan Then threw everything in crock pot after browning and sauteing and deglazing, cooked on low 4 hrs added 1 Cup or so Guinness, cooked another hour, stirred in fresh, chopped parsley and served with Irish brown soda bread(by Andrea Doyle, also from this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was good. I followed the recipe for the most part. Didnt see any need to change it:) I did add the carrots in a little earlier then the potatoes, I like mine to be soft. Added some Rosemary and parsley seemed to give it more flavor then just the beef stock. I needed to add more liquid so put a little more wine in and a bit of water and all was good. Stew should be left to sit for a while before serving it tastes so much better warmed up!!! Oh I added a little mash potato, Every homemade stew I have had in Ireland had both. and I liked it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Very tasty recipe. I left out the bacon, and used a bit of olive oil instead to cut down on the fat. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
One scoop feeds you for a whole day! For an extra flavor kick add Two cans of Guinness stout to the stew!!!!!!!!!!!! GOOOOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I give this Irish Lamb Stew 5 stars for taste, but the instructions are lackluster. Are you serious that step 4 "for 20 minutes until vegetables are tender" are correct"? Carrots take much long to make tender in a pre-boiling pot of water alone. Sorry, unless you expect raw crunchy carrots and potato bits step 4 needs to start within 30 minutes after step 3. Secondly, the prep time is not 20 minutes. I am marking this a 2 out 5 Stars for the prep time alone. The taste is incredible, but the aggravation of making this dish is not worth the trouble. This recipe failed for me as explained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Great flavor! I used boneless lamb loin as my butcher had no shoulder. I put everything in the crock pot, left for work in the AM, came home and enjoyed! Definitely make with the Irish soda bread on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States