Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My husband is now dreaming about this dish! It is awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I loved this and will make it again. I had leftover leg of lamb and made it in my dutch oven. I followed the recipe, except added the carrots after the broth and meats have been simmering for about 30 minutes. I also drained most of the bacon grease off. I also didn't have any wine, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Love Love Love this recipe! It was the best lamb stew ever!! I followed the directions exactly expect I switch out the white wine for apple juice. Prep time is longer than 20 minutes and so worth the little extra time. Step four took 30 mins instead of 20...what's 10 more minutes for an awesome meal! Served it with a loaf of crusty bread and Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad (also from this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
First time I bought lamb...on sale for $3.99 lb. I halved this recipe for all ingredients except meat: only used 1.5 pounds of lamb. Used a whole pound of bacon and it was delicious! Next day even better! I put in my crockpot on low for about 8 hours after browning the meat. My kids scarfed it up and asked for more so we are making again today. I substituted oat flour for the wheat because we don't eat wheat, and omitted the wine. Today I will use 2 lbs of lamb with 1 lb of bacon and keep all other ingredients the same...adding a few cups of celery and a little more garlic because we love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My room mates and I loved this recipe! Bacon in a stew? Wtf!? amazing! It served 8 of us in a night and there was plenty left over. We added a pound of extra bacon for good measure. It was very hearty. It could have been thicker I must admit, so some extra flour or potatoes would work just dandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Definitely not a 'quick and easy' meal, but definitely worth the time and effort!! Great recipe, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
O...M...G!!! Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of lamb, but this is really good. I followed TRACYCOOK's slow cooker method and it was great! I also cut the recipe in half for our family of four. I did sear the lamb and cook the bacon beforehand as well. Meat just doesn't ever taste as flavorful when I throw it in the crockpot raw, no matter HOW long it cooks. Next time I'll add the carrots and potatoes in later, maybe around hour 6. They're just too mushy, and since I used purple potatoes, the color came right out of them, which means all those good antioxidants were sucked out from overcooking. Also added flour at the end, stirred in and cooked on high for about 30 minutes for it to thicken and it made a big difference. Looking forward to grabbing some bread for bread bowls and having this for dinner tonight. Overall a good recipe to have on-hand when we get all that lamb from our CSA meat share! May add Guinness next time instead of white wine as well. Mmmmm beer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Turned out to be delicious. Bought cubed lamb for stew which needed to be coked long and low for approx 3 hrs before tender. Added veggies an cooked another 45 minutes. So took considerably longer than times noted in recipe. But this is a keeper. Great depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
ok, so i tried to follow recipe but didnt understand why only 5 cups of liquid...so i used 48oz of 100% all natural beef broth and 3 cups of water and 2 cups of wine...i added all the ingredients together after browning the lamb instead of waiting and added an hour to the simmer time to soften the meat a bit more and organic flour to thicken it a bit... its the first time ive made this but i really like the way it turned out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States