Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is the first time I have made Irish Lamb Stew and let me tell you it is most certainly not the last! Hands down this is one of the best meals I have made in some time! Everyone absolutely loved it - even my pickiest son - he had 3 servings. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of only using about half of the lamb meat stated. The ratio was still quite generous. I have decided to make this for my parents when they come visit - I am sure it will be a big hit! Thanks for sharing Danny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabriellyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
We had this for our Family Christmas dinner, it was great. Needs more than 20 min for the vegs. I had to give the recipe out we liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Delish! Made this last night for dinner and I just ate leftovers for lunch today. It really does age well. The flavors are richer the next day. The only thing I did differently was to use several sprigs of fresh thyme instead of dried. Yummy! Can't wait to make it for St. Pat's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
First off, this is only the 2nd time I have rated a recipe on this site. This was incredible! The first thing my husband said was WOW! I halved the recipe and followed it through the simmer for 1-1/2 hours. I then put everything in the crockpot, and deglazed the stock pot with the wine first before adding (stock pot had yummies on the bottom I didn't want to waste). Cooked in the crockpot for 4 hours on high. I agree with other reviews that 20 minutes for the veggies was too short, but this way was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome stew! Served as a "sit around the fire" informal meal and got rave reviews. Homemade hearth bread soaked up the broth...mmm.I re-calculated to serve 5, but needed to add a bit more beef stock than called for. I also skimmed off much of the fat since I was serving right away. I used a dry white (Sauvingnon Blanc), which was surprisingly good. Next time will try with a red. Looking forward to leftovers. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I'm not a fan of stew but this was delicious. Tastes even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I would have loved to try this recipe with the lamb but my husband hates lamb. I used steak instead and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was really great. I made it for Easter dinner last year. It takes some time, but I did cook it in the slow cooker, which made it nice for the actual cooking time and did give it a nice long time for flavors to blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was not a hit with the family. It was a lot of work for them not to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I prepared this exactly as described, right down to chilling and defatting. I was reheating it the enxt day on the stove and my inattention allowed the gravy to caramelize on the bottom of a cast iron pan. It wasn't burnt but close. I scraped it all into a plastic container and refrigerated it once more. That simple error elevated this to a whole new level of silkiness. The gravy was supple, spoon coating thick and the entire pot was consumed by one person over 3 meals. It is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States