Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is the perfect lamb stew recipe!! We make it every year for St. Patty's Day and it couldn't come out better. Serve with soda bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by srobbins89
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This recipe was wonderful. I used the website to fraction the stew into 3 servings and there are still plenty of left overs for myself, my husband and my son. I did boil the potatoes, onions and carrots desperately because they do not get soft while simmering in the stew for 20 minutes. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly as instructed (for 3 servings) and it was absolutely amazing. My boys loved it and can't stop talking about it. I paired it with some home made Irish soda bread and it was a meal made in heaven. Great recipe! It is a St. Patrick's day tradition in our Irish home!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Wow! Delicious! I substituted beef for lamb and added 3/4 cup Guinness instead of white wine. My whole family loved it! This recipe will be in our new meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Basically stuck to the original, but made it in slow cooker, much like Tracy Cook. But I did brown the lamb as I wanted the taste of the fond. And I added Rosemary, some Kitchen Bouquet, and a dollop of Worcestershire Sauce to the ingredients. The gravy was a little loose so I made a beurre manie which tightened it up just fine. I cooked it on low for nine hours. The meat melted in my mouth! You could taste the lamb, which I love anyway, but the flavor of lamb was subtle and delicious. Best stew I have ever made, and I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I made this a couple of nights ago. My wife's first comment was, "I'm going to have to give you recipes so I know what you're cooking." Then she took a small helping saying, "I'm not hungry." But she had seconds! The only change I made was to substitute parsnips for half the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Havran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shellmichaud
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Just made this...with a few tweaks. Very good Sunday dinner for snowy NH. I halved the recipe and it was perfect for 6-7qt crock pot. I prepped it Saturday night; cooked the bacon and browned the meat ( coated in flour with salt,pepper,and some Old Bay Seasoning) in bacon grease as instructed, followed by onion and garlic as instructed. Placed meats and veggies (added some fresh green beans for color) in crockpot & gently mixed. Deglazed pot with 1 & 1/2 cup Stout beer, then added the beef broth and 3 ounces tomato paste. Stirred till well mixed added sugar & salt, then poured into crock pot. Added 2 bay leaves & the Thyme. Covered tightly in Saran wrap and put in frig. At 9am I placed in crock base and cooked on low 8hrs. Thickened sauce with some corn starch last 20min of cooking. Absolutely amazing taste and meat is fall apart tender. Paired well with homemade buttermilk biscuits. Look for my attached pic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This stew is awesome! I did switch the wine with Guinness and a added a lot of pepper. I served it in bread bowls for a little dinner party and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I halved the recipe...it was perfectly delicious. One substitution -- instead of white wine I used a non-alcoholic rose cooking wine. Still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
My partner is a Buddhist so I substituted chicken broth for the beef broth. Added a tablespoon of wosteshire sauce. It was better than I expected. This is one of my favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
love it should half the recipe for two people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States