Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
2nd time I have made this. 1st part of recipe I placed in crock pot over night, let sit in fridge to bring the fat up, removed as much as I could than placed on stove added the vegetables, AND on advise from one of the reviewers used a guinness extra stout beer. This is my go to lamb stew. The lamb I used, bought a whole lamb and had it butchered and wrapped at local meat processing plant. Used the lamb stew meat. Love the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Parmenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
LOVED IT, but the prep time is a bit longer, the act of browning lamb in bacon fat is like sex:), my kitchen smelled unbelievable. I think you will all enjoy. It's a great meal to cook on a rainy Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was/is really delicious. The following substitutions were made. Costco leg of lamb instead of shoulder. Rice flour instead of wheat flour and increased amount by 1/4 cup. Rich chicken stock instead of beef stock. Purple sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes. Red wine instead of white. Addedd a pound of mushrooms. Simmered for 55 minutes at end instead of 20. Added more salt and pepper at end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
We actually had an overcast day here in So Calif. This was the perfect meal with potato rolls. I also modified this with a stick of celery, four small potatoes, chardonnay, precooked bacon which I had rendered the fat off already. Although the beer instead of wine sounded good, Im not a beer person and preferred the wine taste. The recipe was easy. A novice would realize that carrots and potatoes take longer. I'd hope so anyway. Good tasting stew! Next time I may use parsnips. and chayote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was good and easy. Did not use lamb. Used a cheap cut of beef and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
The flavor is excellent. The meat comes out tender and delicious (it is worth taking the time to brown the lamb before adding it to the stew!). My gripe with this recipe is that the directions are VERY unclear and hard to follow. Also, following them as written is a bit dangerous. If you drop the lamb directly into the bacon grease while it is over the hot eye, you will get bad burns from hot grease flying all over the place. Trust me on that. I agree with other reviewers that the potatoes and carrots need to be added sooner to get tender and really soak up the stew flavor. Like many reviewers, I cut way back on the meat. The listed amounts seemed both excessive and expensive. It came out fine with 12oz of bacon and 2.5lbs of lamb leg. I used the listed amounts of all other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Giving this one a 4-star because stews aren't my favorite, but this one is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My husband said that this was the best thing I had ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKristen426

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Very tasty. Made Irish Soda Bread I for St Patty's Day 2014.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States