Irish Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Wow! Delicious! I substituted beef for lamb and added 3/4 cup Guinness instead of white wine. My whole family loved it! This recipe will be in our new meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Basically stuck to the original, but made it in slow cooker, much like Tracy Cook. But I did brown the lamb as I wanted the taste of the fond. And I added Rosemary, some Kitchen Bouquet, and a dollop of Worcestershire Sauce to the ingredients. The gravy was a little loose so I made a beurre manie which tightened it up just fine. I cooked it on low for nine hours. The meat melted in my mouth! You could taste the lamb, which I love anyway, but the flavor of lamb was subtle and delicious. Best stew I have ever made, and I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I made this a couple of nights ago. My wife's first comment was, "I'm going to have to give you recipes so I know what you're cooking." Then she took a small helping saying, "I'm not hungry." But she had seconds! The only change I made was to substitute parsnips for half the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Havran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shellmichaud
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Just made this...with a few tweaks. Very good Sunday dinner for snowy NH. I halved the recipe and it was perfect for 6-7qt crock pot. I prepped it Saturday night; cooked the bacon and browned the meat ( coated in flour with salt,pepper,and some Old Bay Seasoning) in bacon grease as instructed, followed by onion and garlic as instructed. Placed meats and veggies (added some fresh green beans for color) in crockpot & gently mixed. Deglazed pot with 1 & 1/2 cup Stout beer, then added the beef broth and 3 ounces tomato paste. Stirred till well mixed added sugar & salt, then poured into crock pot. Added 2 bay leaves & the Thyme. Covered tightly in Saran wrap and put in frig. At 9am I placed in crock base and cooked on low 8hrs. Thickened sauce with some corn starch last 20min of cooking. Absolutely amazing taste and meat is fall apart tender. Paired well with homemade buttermilk biscuits. Look for my attached pic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This stew is awesome! I did switch the wine with Guinness and a added a lot of pepper. I served it in bread bowls for a little dinner party and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I halved the recipe...it was perfectly delicious. One substitution -- instead of white wine I used a non-alcoholic rose cooking wine. Still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
My partner is a Buddhist so I substituted chicken broth for the beef broth. Added a tablespoon of wosteshire sauce. It was better than I expected. This is one of my favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
love it should half the recipe for two people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I had a couple of lamb shoulder chops leftover from another night's dinner and decided to make this recipe work with Already cooked lamb. I made the bacon and used the fat to make a roux then added the cooked lamb that I had cut into bite sized pieces along with the vegetables. I let it simmer for about 45 minutes which was perfect for the vegetables to cook through and still have a bit of crunch to them. I also added in a beer because I really like that flavor profile for an Irish Stew. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Atheer
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This dish is delicious! I had some lamb and I wanted to make something different. I made some changes tho it turned great. I substituted bacon with turkey bacon, because we don't eat pork and I didn't add wine or beer either because we don't drink alcohol. I added some green beens to for the color and for greens.. And because we were really hungry I minimized the simmering time for 40 minutes then I added the vegetables for 20. The meat was soft and tender, I'm sure if I went all the way it will be better. Yet it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States