Irish Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Uncooked potatoes can take a long time to cook, esspecially compared to the green peppers and onions. THEREFORE, I cubed and cooked the potatoes first (in some veg oil instead of butter), added the green peppers, onions (as well as some fresh mushrooms, cooked/cubed ham and chopped broccoli) once the potatoes were almost done. Then, I added apprx 1/4c milk to the beaten eggs and poured overall, flipping to cook. Sprinkled some sharp cheddar cheese overall. Predictable taste but good none-the-less. Thanks Maggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This recipe is great and couldn't be simpler. My brother introduced me to it, although he calls it a breakfast skillet since he makes everything in one pan. We will also add bacon, sausage or ham depending on what is in the fridge. Basically you can throw just about anything you want in. We have also added cheese, tomatoes, green onions, and mushrooms. It is really open to anything you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
great breakfast fare!! we did cheat a little and use the frozen ore ida obrien potatoes and added some chopped canadian bacon too. Let the spuds get extra crispy before you pour the eggs on.. even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This recipe was a real hit.. I nuked the potato in the microwave first for about 2 mins and then sliced and browned it. This really cut down on the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I loved this!! I have made scrambled eggs numerous times with green bell peppers, but with the mix of onion and the potatoes, this is great. I had used left over potatoes that I had par-boiled then grilled, so I just cut them up and browned them in the pan. I used red onion and a mix of red and green bell peppers. I actually made this for myself for dinner and it was very filling. Crushed red pepper flakes is tasty on this too, adds a little zip. I will definitely make this again. Thanks (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This is a good basic recipe, if you're looking for a different twist on scrambled; I have often used leftover home fries. Warm them up to get them crispier in the skillet -- add the pepper/onion. Never, never add salt & pepper while cooking! Save it for the table, so people can adjust to their own personal taste. My husband has always liked to add a splash of Tobassco sauce to his...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
I loved the change of having vegetables with my scrambled eggs. I added a little milk which made the eggs fluffy. Will have many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Very tasty! Followed others' suggestions: used frozen potatoes (southern hashed), browned potatoes til crispy, added milk to the eggs, added browned sausage. Next time will try cubed ham or canadian bacon. Made for Father's Day breakfast and my husband and children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Really good! I found that salt and pepper had to be added, and I did a 2/3 ratio for potatoes to eggs. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
My wife and I eat a similar dish at least once a week, sometime for breakfast and also dinner. I use bacon, cooked first. Remove bacon from frying pan leave the grease, add potatoes and mixed peppers frying until lightly browned. Add the bacon back in, I use 2 eggs per person, well beaten. For fluffier eggs add a dollop of sour cream to the eggs and beat well. Making sure the frying pan is not to hot, add the eggs and fold them into the mixture in the frying pan, continue folding eggs until cooked but don't over cook them they should be moist. Serve hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Scramble Eggs

See how to whip up fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States