Irish Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I've been making this for years but never knew it was called Irish Eggs. I cube my potatoes small so they don't take so long to cook. Sliced tomatoes when they're in season and maybe toast and you are all set. Great for Sunday breakfast and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I have made this(and variations) for years but did not know it was called Irish Eggs. Can someone tell me why ? thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Vaughn White

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
My wife and I eat a similar dish at least once a week, sometime for breakfast and also dinner. I use bacon, cooked first. Remove bacon from frying pan leave the grease, add potatoes and mixed peppers frying until lightly browned. Add the bacon back in, I use 2 eggs per person, well beaten. For fluffier eggs add a dollop of sour cream to the eggs and beat well. Making sure the frying pan is not to hot, add the eggs and fold them into the mixture in the frying pan, continue folding eggs until cooked but don't over cook them they should be moist. Serve hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I also nuke the potatoes first, meanwhile sauteeing onion and broccoli or other green veggie. Then I add the egg, milk and cheese, sometimes ham, also 1/3 tsp of ground chili pepper for flavor. If you do the prep the night before it's a quick, easy and nutritious breakfast for teens who may not eat again till they get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
We called this "scrabble" and was a simple, cheap meal. You do need to cook the potatoes before anything else if they are raw. My mother used to use left over boiled potatoes (red or white) cut up. All she really needed to do was to brown them with the onion and whatever else she threw in. I find that if you dice the raw potatoes into 1/2" pieces, they cook through relatively fast and brown nicely in a non-stick skillet. I also add about a tablespoon of water and cover to steam them, if needed, after browning. This is one of my favorite comfort foods. Season with salt and pepper, maybe some garlic and sometimes I'll toss in a little Worcestershire sauce. This is one of those recipes that you can experiment with and truly make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
it might taste better than it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I have been making something similar, but I start with a lb of breakfast sausage. Cook and drain and set aside cook the potatoes. Once the potatoes (or hash browns) are cooked, combine eggs, cheese, sausage, and peach mango salsa and cook until the eggs are done. The salsa makes it awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Mmmmm, I love a good breakfast cassarole. I added 2 T. Of basil to give it more flavor, added another 1/2 onion, and added 2 more eggs. Be sure to add a about 1T. Of milk per egg while beating. Salt and pepper, of course, are also needed. The chunks of potato were too big for me, so I will be sure to chop them into smaller pieces next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
My Daddy died in 1977 (at 54) This was one of his favorite delishious Sunday breakfast dishes that he would prepare. What sweet memories. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I'm Croatian and have been making this for over 40 years.I add bacon or ham or hotdogs,the kids always liked it with the hot dogs . I put cheese in it too when it is almost done.Great with your favorite hot sauce or ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States