Irish Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I didn't care for this at all. For a novice cook: add the onions after the potatoes have started cooking; also salt and pepper. The directions mention "scramble", but the photo shows an omelet and there are way too many potatoes for the amount of eggs. It seemed like a poor version of a frittata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was a weekend staple for our family in the 60s and 70s. We always called it slum gullion. You started with leftover potatoes, and since we were a meat and potatoes household, my mom would cook plenty of potates knowing that any left would go into weekend slum. Usually some leftover ham went is, almost always, and we used plenty of onions. My older brother Scott, when he was just making some for himself, might dice and throw in some tomatoes for tomato slum. Raw potatoes would have been too much work. The object was feed our huge family quickly and move on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
A nice twist on the omelette. Changes that I made, mostly based on reading reviews, were to cook potatoes ahead of time, added green pepper, bacon, milk, and cheese in a cast iron skillet. Had leftovers, so on day 2, added more cheese and ham. Will make again, as it's ridiculously easy and not too time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this Sunday morning for St. Paddys. I loved the idea of it but wanted to spice it up. I used frozen southwest style potatoes and added sausage, cheese and a few spices. My kids are 7 and 3 and they loved it as well as my husband and I. We will be keeping up this tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is such a great recipe in that it is so versatile. Irish, German, Italian, French ? ... My Hungarian grandmother used to make this. I'm sure every nation has broken some eggs, and had their own name for it... I just call it delicious. My gram even used to use leftover noodles instead of potatoes sometimes .... yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe was useless. I read about a dozen reviews and they all said the same thing the raw potatoes don't work! Not sure why they gave so many stars when they all changed the recipe! 6 potatoes is WAY TOO many if they aren't tiny, also won't cook well that way. Also the eggs were burnt on the bottom by the time the top was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I usually microwave the potatoes a bit so they crisp up more when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This recipe is soo...good. Serve iit for Christmas brunch every year as well as other special times. I usually precook the potatoes.the night befpre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Love this but use boiled potatoes not raw. A drizzle of brown sauce and this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
We made this all the time in Girl Scouts. We called it Pioneer Breakfast. A one pot meal that cleaned up well and everyone enjoyed it. Cook the bacon. Add chopped onions and cook till soft. Take out bacon and onion. Cook the potatoes till soft. Add bacon and onions. Add eggs and scramble till eggs are cooked to desired doneness. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdesetti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States