Irish Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was a weekend staple for our family in the 60s and 70s. We always called it slum gullion. You started with leftover potatoes, and since we were a meat and potatoes household, my mom would cook plenty of potates knowing that any left would go into weekend slum. Usually some leftover ham went is, almost always, and we used plenty of onions. My older brother Scott, when he was just making some for himself, might dice and throw in some tomatoes for tomato slum. Raw potatoes would have been too much work. The object was feed our huge family quickly and move on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
A nice twist on the omelette. Changes that I made, mostly based on reading reviews, were to cook potatoes ahead of time, added green pepper, bacon, milk, and cheese in a cast iron skillet. Had leftovers, so on day 2, added more cheese and ham. Will make again, as it's ridiculously easy and not too time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this Sunday morning for St. Paddys. I loved the idea of it but wanted to spice it up. I used frozen southwest style potatoes and added sausage, cheese and a few spices. My kids are 7 and 3 and they loved it as well as my husband and I. We will be keeping up this tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is such a great recipe in that it is so versatile. Irish, German, Italian, French ? ... My Hungarian grandmother used to make this. I'm sure every nation has broken some eggs, and had their own name for it... I just call it delicious. My gram even used to use leftover noodles instead of potatoes sometimes .... yummy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe was useless. I read about a dozen reviews and they all said the same thing the raw potatoes don't work! Not sure why they gave so many stars when they all changed the recipe! 6 potatoes is WAY TOO many if they aren't tiny, also won't cook well that way. Also the eggs were burnt on the bottom by the time the top was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I usually microwave the potatoes a bit so they crisp up more when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This recipe is soo...good. Serve iit for Christmas brunch every year as well as other special times. I usually precook the potatoes.the night befpre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Love this but use boiled potatoes not raw. A drizzle of brown sauce and this is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
We made this all the time in Girl Scouts. We called it Pioneer Breakfast. A one pot meal that cleaned up well and everyone enjoyed it. Cook the bacon. Add chopped onions and cook till soft. Take out bacon and onion. Cook the potatoes till soft. Add bacon and onions. Add eggs and scramble till eggs are cooked to desired doneness. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdesetti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I've been making this for years but never knew it was called Irish Eggs. I cube my potatoes small so they don't take so long to cook. Sliced tomatoes when they're in season and maybe toast and you are all set. Great for Sunday breakfast and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Scramble Eggs

See how to whip up fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States