Irish Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
These were the best!!! I made them for a group of guys who were coming over. They were gone in a flash. This one will be used again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
I did a few shortcuts to this recipe, like using canned corned beef, the bagged mix of cabbage and carrots like you would find in the produce sections of your grocery store, and mixing them together in a bowl with a few tablespoons of water and nuking them for 3 mns. This helped tremendously in prep time, and my Irish fiancee loves these rolls! I also cut up the onions and made a separate mixture, since I personally don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I have never made egg rolls and these were very easy. They turned out ownderful and everyone at the party asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
These were absolutely delicious! We used ground beef instead of corned beef, and the egg rolls were a hit! We had non left at our party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Loved this recipe! I used the pre-packaged slaw mix~~about 2.5 -3 cups~~instead of the cabbage and carrots. I also used the corned beef available at the deli counter. This was great and my children loved them!! Next time I'm going to add some shredded swiss cheese to the filling and serve with Thousand Island dressing as a dip to bring out that Reuben flavor even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
These are a REQUESTED staple at my St. Patty's Day parties every year!! I have 2 friends that "guard" the platter after I fry them! I use LOTS of short cuts, and they are STILL delectable! (Canned diced potatoes, bagged slaw for the cabbage, canned corned beef, etc.) . We have discovered everyone loves to dip them in Thousand Island Dressing (for whatever reason!). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I used the shortcuts mentioned also(bagged slaw mix, deli corned beef, canned potatoes). I took them to a party at my sister's. Her Irish in-laws(and everyone else) loved them! They were so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I made this recipe for St. Patrick's Day and everyone loved it. They all want it again for Easter now. I did make a few little changes to the recipe though...I used Pork Back Bacon instead of corned beef (It's a traditional irish bacon and not smoked, similar to canadian bacon)and I steamed the cabbage in beer instead of water. I also used a rhubarb/ginger jam for a dipping sauce, which added a hint of sweetness to the egg roll. Either way, it's a great recipe and will now become a part of my regular collection...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I haven't made these yet. I'm making corned beef today so tomorrow or the next day. But I want to say that a good dipping sauce for these would be creamed horseradish-mustard sauce. I eat that with my corned beef dinner and it's wonderful. 1 cup sour cream, 3 tablespoons Dijon mustard and 2 tablespoon horseradish or to taste. Let you know how the eggrolls turn out when I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I made this last winter and just now came back to this page to write a review. This was DELICIOUS! It was a big hit. I took the advice written below and bought canned potatoes, coleslaw etc and I couldn't have been more satisfied. It's best fresh though. I thought the ones reheated were a bit damp. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States