Irish Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
These were a big hit. I tried them with the coleslaw mix and deli corned beef short-cut, but I like them better using leftover corned beef & cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
These were a hit at our family reunion. I've been looking for authentic Irish foods since our cousins were coming to the US, they loved this, I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
These were good! They could have done with more corned beef, but we definitely enjoyed them. I made them with some slaw mix that needed using up; also did them in the oven like the previous reviewer. We had them with a little Branston pickle. Thanks, Nicolle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I used reviewer KC's suggestion and just sprayed the rolls with PAM and baked them at 400° for 18 minutes. They turned out PERFECTLY! These were very easy to make and I will definitely make them again this way - so much healthier than frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I made this last winter and just now came back to this page to write a review. This was DELICIOUS! It was a big hit. I took the advice written below and bought canned potatoes, coleslaw etc and I couldn't have been more satisfied. It's best fresh though. I thought the ones reheated were a bit damp. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I haven't made these yet. I'm making corned beef today so tomorrow or the next day. But I want to say that a good dipping sauce for these would be creamed horseradish-mustard sauce. I eat that with my corned beef dinner and it's wonderful. 1 cup sour cream, 3 tablespoons Dijon mustard and 2 tablespoon horseradish or to taste. Let you know how the eggrolls turn out when I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I made this recipe for St. Patrick's Day and everyone loved it. They all want it again for Easter now. I did make a few little changes to the recipe though...I used Pork Back Bacon instead of corned beef (It's a traditional irish bacon and not smoked, similar to canadian bacon)and I steamed the cabbage in beer instead of water. I also used a rhubarb/ginger jam for a dipping sauce, which added a hint of sweetness to the egg roll. Either way, it's a great recipe and will now become a part of my regular collection...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
We enjoyed these, though I wish I could've come up with a more creative dipping sauce than simple dijon mustard. Used the same shortcuts that others mentioned-- corned beef from deli, 2c of cole slaw mix, 1c of precooked/bagged shredded potatoes. Also, I did not fry them. Once I wrapped them up, I misted them with a bit of non-stick cooking spray and placed on a cookie sheet.....then baked for 18 minutes @ 425 degrees. A bit healthier than the deep-frying method, but tastes at least as good IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I used the shortcuts mentioned also(bagged slaw mix, deli corned beef, canned potatoes). I took them to a party at my sister's. Her Irish in-laws(and everyone else) loved them! They were so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
These are a REQUESTED staple at my St. Patty's Day parties every year!! I have 2 friends that "guard" the platter after I fry them! I use LOTS of short cuts, and they are STILL delectable! (Canned diced potatoes, bagged slaw for the cabbage, canned corned beef, etc.) . We have discovered everyone loves to dip them in Thousand Island Dressing (for whatever reason!). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States