Irish Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I used reviewer KC's suggestion and just sprayed the rolls with PAM and baked them at 400° for 18 minutes. They turned out PERFECTLY! These were very easy to make and I will definitely make them again this way - so much healthier than frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
We enjoyed these, though I wish I could've come up with a more creative dipping sauce than simple dijon mustard. Used the same shortcuts that others mentioned-- corned beef from deli, 2c of cole slaw mix, 1c of precooked/bagged shredded potatoes. Also, I did not fry them. Once I wrapped them up, I misted them with a bit of non-stick cooking spray and placed on a cookie sheet.....then baked for 18 minutes @ 425 degrees. A bit healthier than the deep-frying method, but tastes at least as good IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
I did a few shortcuts to this recipe, like using canned corned beef, the bagged mix of cabbage and carrots like you would find in the produce sections of your grocery store, and mixing them together in a bowl with a few tablespoons of water and nuking them for 3 mns. This helped tremendously in prep time, and my Irish fiancee loves these rolls! I also cut up the onions and made a separate mixture, since I personally don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
There just aren't enough stars for this one. This has got to be, quite simply, the BEST use of leftover St. Patrick's Day dinner EVER! I've made these a couple of times and my $.02 is: 1. I quadruple the recipe and it yields 36 egg rolls. 2. I use a large Ziploc freezer bag and place each ingredient in the bag in layers, then shake vigorously to blend. (It makes it easy to scoop out portions with a measuring cup.) 3. Have a wet paper towel ready to use as the "sealer" when you're about to close up the egg roll. I also forego the deep-fry method and do the spray-with-Pam-and-bake-at-400ºF method. My favorite "dipping" sauce is a horseradish mustard; my kids seem to prefer just mustard. Thanks for a FANTASTIC recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I haven't made these yet. I'm making corned beef today so tomorrow or the next day. But I want to say that a good dipping sauce for these would be creamed horseradish-mustard sauce. I eat that with my corned beef dinner and it's wonderful. 1 cup sour cream, 3 tablespoons Dijon mustard and 2 tablespoon horseradish or to taste. Let you know how the eggrolls turn out when I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Loved this recipe! I used the pre-packaged slaw mix~~about 2.5 -3 cups~~instead of the cabbage and carrots. I also used the corned beef available at the deli counter. This was great and my children loved them!! Next time I'm going to add some shredded swiss cheese to the filling and serve with Thousand Island dressing as a dip to bring out that Reuben flavor even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
These were the best!!! I made them for a group of guys who were coming over. They were gone in a flash. This one will be used again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
These were absolutely delicious! We used ground beef instead of corned beef, and the egg rolls were a hit! We had non left at our party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I have never made egg rolls and these were very easy. They turned out ownderful and everyone at the party asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I made this recipe for St. Patrick's Day and everyone loved it. They all want it again for Easter now. I did make a few little changes to the recipe though...I used Pork Back Bacon instead of corned beef (It's a traditional irish bacon and not smoked, similar to canadian bacon)and I steamed the cabbage in beer instead of water. I also used a rhubarb/ginger jam for a dipping sauce, which added a hint of sweetness to the egg roll. Either way, it's a great recipe and will now become a part of my regular collection...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States