Irish Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Made this with our leftovers this year, just added a little salt and pepper and used lumpia wrappers which are a little thinner than egg roll wrappers and fry up crispier. They were tasty! Used either yellow mustard or Dijon for dipping. I'm not sure why other reviewers were bland? Maybe I had a little more meat in mine, and I used the carrots, cabbage,potatoes and celery that were cooked in the corned beef liquid. I also chopped up a fresh onion. I'd make these again if I have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Happy St. Patrick's Day y'all! I made this recipe for the first time tonight! Everybody loves it. I took a few short-cuts: used (shock!)frozen cooked potatoes which I microwaved and cold slaw from a mixed bag, chopped up a little deli pastrami & onion, then mixed them all up in a bowl. I love spinach, so I made one with spinach just for me. For dipping sauce, I made spicy ranch dressing & even added some hot sauce to it to really zoom it up Texas-style! Ireland forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Taste perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
As far as St. Patrick's day leftovers go, it's hard to beat corned beef w/ mustard on rye! However, I thought I'd give this recipe a try, and I'm glad i did, they were really tasty, fun to make and to eat! I'm also glad I followed another reviewer's suggestion of baking instead of frying, they were done after 20 minutes at 400 degrees, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
While this was easy to do with leftovers from St. Patrick's Day meal...it lacked that humph of savory flavors. Having said that, my meal from the night before was down right delish and barely had leftovers to make this recipe. However, hubby and I didn't cared for the potatoes in the eggrolls, it just didn't flow with the rest of the ingredients. We both felt it was the culprit, that made it bland. Totally need some sort of seasonings to the mix of ingredients before spooning on to the wrappers. The recipe was okay and has a huge margin of tweaking to make it excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
These were easy, quick, and good but not “to die for.” They definitely needed much more meat as the corned beef flavor just didn't come through for us. We were divided as to if it needed more flavoring—some said it was fine for others it was a bit bland. Suggestions to add a bit of flavor, perhaps some pickling spice, ground horseradish, mustard, or Swiss cheese. To cut calories and to make cooking easier, we did not deep-fry these. Rather we sprayed with non-stick cooking spray and put them in the oven. Deep frying tastes better has better texture but we just can’t afford that in our diet. Used Thousand Island dressing and/or a horseradish sauce for dipping—to be honest it was Horsey Sauce from Arby’s restaurants. Would make these again but with some tweaking. Think I’ll try the smaller wonton wrappers for hors d'oeuvres.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I don't really like using the egg roll wrappers so I used tortilla instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Point, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We like spicy food. This recipe could use a few spices to stimulate the taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
my hubby liked these. I used can corned beef, and baked them at 350 for 18 mins. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
made these the day after st. pattys day but a usd the leftover corned beef chopped up together with shredded swiss cheese and a small can of saurkraut that i drained mix and put a tbs. in center of eggroll wrapper wrap like an eggroll fry in veggie oil drain and serve with thousand island dressing this is my take on a rueben roll
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States