Irish Dairy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I chose this recipe as it sounded very firm and dense and I wanted to make a 6"x6" cube cake for my nephew's 1st birthday-to resemble a musical toy he loves. I bought a 6x6x2" cake pan and thought the baking time would be significantly reduced due to the small pan. BOY was I WRONG! It took almost an hr and 45mins to bake out clean! and while my cake was level thanks to the damp towel wrap trick-- the top of the cake was like a crisp cookie and had lifted away from the cake below. I also greased and floured the pan very well and still had difficulty getting it out of the pan cleanly. There is no direction how long to cool it before unmolding and I did run a knife around the edge to loosen before overturning. I did 3 layers so I tried 3 different ways to grease/flour, cool before freeing and different utensils around the edge but to no avail. Also the cookie like top cracked and chipped apart when overturned. Tastewise-OMG I wanted to just sit down and eat the batter--oh I also added a Tablespoon of vanilla instead of a teaspoon YUM! Well we will see what happens when I take the chilled layers out for assembly and decoration tomorrow. Wish me LUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I made this cake exactly to the recipe. It baked up beautifully. The finished product turned out visually appealing, very full and dense. The flavor though was just okay for me though. It is, as other viewers have indicated, a very rich cake. This, in my opinion, is too rich of a cake to serve to guests for formal occasions or to family for informal occasions. Despite my lack of fervor for this cake, my husband quite enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Yum! So rich and heavy! I am in love! Thanks for the recipe. Cooked this with Reubens and fried cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmw1018
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Maybe I screwed something up; it wouldn't be the first time, but I did not care for this. Given all the wonderful, rich (and costly) ingredients, I would not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Tasted alright. Not terribly impressed but it was an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I made cupcakes using this recipe. They were little bundles of moist buttery goodness. I used cool whip buttercream frosting tinted orange for Halloween. Had to take them to work so we wouldn't eat them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This revisits a common recipe of a solid performer. This classic, standard pound cake recipe is so popular and so enduring because it’s delicious and turns out perfectly every time. On this occasion, I used the batter for cupcakes for my grandbaby’s Baptism. I filled them about 1/3 full, dotted them each with 1/2 tsp. of seedless raspberry jam, then added more batter to about 3/4 full. I baked them at 350 degrees about 23 minutes, then frosted them with a Vanilla Buttercream. The combination of the cake, the raspberry and the buttercream couldn’t have pleased me more. The flavor variations in this cake are limited only by your imagination – in this case I used 1-1/2 tsp. of clear vanilla and 1/2 tsp. of almond flavoring; but rum, coconut, orange, lemon are all just a few of the many interesting alternatives. Bake this dependable pound cake recipe with confidence, and beware of those recipes with changes in the amounts of sugar or, most particularly, butter. (Now, cross your fingers for me that these make it intact to Minneapolis tomorrow for Andrew’s Baptism!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Tried this recipe on the recommendation of another AR member. It was amazing! I made with just a few tweaks. I used cake flour instead of all-purpose flour because I prefer the texture you get from using cake flour in pound cake. I also used 1 tbsp of vanilla and 1 tsp of almond flavoring. I did have one problem. The cake came out perfect, but, as it cooled the cake seemed to sink and top cracked and crumbled. Luckily, I used a bundt pan, so, once I flipped it the top was hidden. Not sure what caused the cake to settle, but it was moist and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
this cake was excellent. the whole family and all my friends at work loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Delicious and very dense. I had to bake it for closer to 2 hours but it came out fine. I loved this because it's not super sweet and a great festive treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States