Irish Cream Truffle Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Oh this is the best. I read the previous reviews about how this was too strong, so I started out with 3/4 of a cup. The only problem I ran into with this reduced amounnt of liquid was the inability to stir the fudge at all! So I added the remaining 1/4 of a cup. I didn't find this too strong.. guess it is personal preference. I am sure this will go over well at tomorrow's St. Patrick's Day party at work. Yes it does make more than an 8X8 pan. I also filled a loaf pan with the fudge. I lined both pans with foil and when the fudge was set, it was easy to cut.. just remove from pan lifting the foil.. and slice. Easier than trying to cut in the pan. Update - this time I melted the chocolate in the microwave. MUCH easier and you don't have the worry of the chocolate seizing up on you as has happened to me before with a double boiler. Just dump the chocoalate and butter in microwave safe bowl, micro on high for like 45 seconds each time, give it a stir and then pop back in until it is almost completley melted. Stirring the chocoalte will get the last few bits to melt jsut fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Perhaps I'm spoiled by more traditional fudge recipes but, like other reviewers, I was less than pleased with the consistency of this. Just not as creamy as it should be. I, too, threw it out. While this is easy to make, I guess you get out of something what you're willing to put into it. True fudge takes a bit more effort, but yields far better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
YUM! This is really very easy, and the results are super impressive! Instead of all semi-sweet, I used half-and-half milk chocolate and semi-sweet. It was still very rich, but that just made you happy with a smaller piece! (But that doesn't mean you can resist going back for another piece in a few minutes...). **One note: This was very boozy (but good!) the first day, but I think the flavor mellowed a little as it sat; try to make it a day ahead (if you can resist).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Fantastic! My modifications: I used 3/4 cup Bailey's and 1/4 cup heavy cream, and I and subsituted 2 tbspsoons butterscotch schnapps for half of the Irish cream in the topping. I also changed the ratios of the topping...I did 1 cup white chocolate chips and 1/2 cup semi-sweet, which made it stand out more without going all-white. It set in the freezer in less than an hour and the people at the dinner party I attended devoured it. It was easy to make, easy to transport, and required no serving dishes, but still impressed people--what could be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Very tasty... However I would make some changes next time I make it. First, I would use a 9x12 as opposed 8x8 - these were way too tall to cut through w/o the top layer breaking off. Secondly, I would definitely line my pan with foil instead of buttering it - so, so, so much easier to get out of pan (and a cxlean pan to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
When I was ready to start the fudge, I realized that I didn't have any white chocolate chips, so for the base layer, I used 1/2 semi-sweet, and 1/2 milk chocolate chips. I used all milk chocolate for the top. I used a few reviewers suggestion not use the full cup of Irish Cream (because they said all Irish Cream made it taste too strong). I used 3/4 cup Irish Cream, and 1/4 cup of half and half, and found this made the Irish Cream flavor rather mild (even after a day or two). Also, since previous reviewers said that it made such a thick fudge, I used two(2) 8x8" pans. It made a fudge that was just shy of 1" thick, which was the perfect thickness. It was good; I would try this again, but I think I will use the full 1 cup of Irish Cream next time, and make sure I have white chocolate chips next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SD_GAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holliston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
This is absolutely wonderful, but I must agree with other reviewers-if you don't like Irish Cream why would you even try this recipe at all(?!) never mind reviewing it. Iused a larger pan which kept the fudge from being so thick. I reviewed this once before a few years ago and every time since then when I make it at least 5 people ask for the recipe! It mellows and tastes even better with time, however that's only if it sticks around long enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This is the best chocolate fudge I've ever had. I will definately be making this again and again. Everyone I fed it to loved it as well. The only problem is that the recipe called for an 8x8 pan when I think it should have been a 9x13 pan. The fudge was so full in the pan that is was really really hard to cut and get out. Next time, I will try it in the larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Yum! Yum! This recipe makes plenty for an 11x17 pan. Use a bigger pan, cut it into more pieces; maybe it will last longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Delicious! Made this for the holidays and it disappeared fast....people just kept eating and eating! The only problem I had was using the 8X8 dish, which resulted in a very thick fudge. I had problems with it breaking and ending up wasting a lot when cutting it. Next time, I'll try a 9X9 dish. Great recipe, very addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States