Irish Cream Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Great recipe (and I VERY rarely give 5 stars)! Followed it exactly. I have a couple of tips: 1) After whisking, wait for the froth on top of the mixture to dissipate before pouring into the ramekins. I poured the hot water and put the dishes in the oven before the froth went down, and the froth baked... making my tops bubbly and brown and ugly. I had to scrape them clean before I could add sugar to the tops. 2)PLEASE use a quality cream. I used a cheap cream because the good quality one at the store was close to its expiration date. The creme brulee was still wonderful, but we could definitely taste the poor quality cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was a great recipe. I substituted the Irish Cream with Amaretto, and the results were fantastic. I would definently make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillips, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Excellent. First time I have ever made Creme Brule, and I stuck right to the recipe. It was excellent. I decided to try a recipe from another web site to just compare and it couldn't touch this one. I will stick with this for good. Thanks Grace
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This turned out excellent! I used a butane torch to broil the sugar and served it with fresh whipped cream (that I added Irish Cream to) and a chocolate clover leaf. Suggestions: Be very careful not to let the liquid get too hot. To test when it is ready, coat the back of a spoon and run a line with your finger down the center. If the line stays, your liquid is hot enough. If it curdles, blend it with a small amount of milk and pour it through a strainer. Also, cook the custard to between 165 & 175 degrees. Any higher and it will separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good, but with only a subtle hint of Irish Cream flavor. Would have liked to see it more pronounced, so I'd suggest adding more. Rather than superfine sugar I used the coarser, demerara sugar. My ramekins were shallow rather than the 6 oz. custard type ramekins and needed just 25 minutes of baking time, so the specified baking time is only approximate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and although time consuming, it was very easy to make. I didn't have Irish Cream on hand so I made it without and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Followed this recipe exactly as written, and YUMMM! Do be careful when incorporating the hot cream / sugar mixture into the egg yolks--I strained the mixture through a sieve, and found a few teeny bits of scrambled egg. The custard sets up beautifully--great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Excellent! This was very easy to make. I didn't have Irish Cream so instead I used Frangelico (hazelnut liquer). I have a kitchen blowtorch which worked perfectly so the custard stayed chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFWANDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This was wonderful. I put them umder the broiler but it is definately worth investing in a torch. The upper half of the creme brulee was warm instead of the whole thing being cold. Wonderful texture also. I may try different flavors next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this on Valentine's Day and it turned out perfect. The irish creme gave it a nice flavor. I was on a time limit so I put the oven at 375degrees and baked it for 15-20 minutes. Let sit in the water bath for 15 minutes before putting the ramekins in the refrigerator. Used a torch to melt the sugar. Very yummy and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States