Irish Cream Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
What a great way to dress up an ordinary boxed brownie mix. I've made something similar in the past, only I'd make a Chocolate Irish Cream Frosting and while I do think it's good, I have to say this frosting is better! Nice contrast between the light frosting and the dark chocolate brownie. It is a lovely frosting, buttery, fluffy and with just a hint of the Irish cream. I also like the idea of the sprinkling of toffee bits, for which I used crushed Heath bars instead. This is, overall, creative and delicious but the frosting, in particular, shines. I plan to remember this one and use it to frost a layer cake in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
These brownies are spectacular! I often find brownies with frosting too overwhelmingly sweet, but this frosting is a superb complement to the fudgy brownie. It is light, fluffy and perfectly flavored with just the right amount of Irish Cream and coffee. I used a Ghirardelli Triple Chocolate Brownie mix but the frosting was the star. I cannot wait to wow my brownie loving friends with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These were very good! The frosting is very sweet, but has a good Irish Cream flavor. Next time I will make half the frosting because you only need to skim the top of the brownies to enjoy the taste of the frosting as using the full amount was too sweet for me. I also substituted Kahlua for the brewed coffee in the frosting. After I brought the Irish Cream liquor, milk, and Kahlua to a boil in my microwave, I put in fridge to cool and thicken. I did not have a problem with runny frosting at all. It was the perfect consistency. I used a potato peeler and a Hershey bar to make chocolate curls on top. Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Awesome brownies! I made these for Father's Day and everyone loved them. My dad said they were the best brownies he's ever had, and my 9 year old nephew really liked them too. I kept to the recipe and they turned out great. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I chose to make these for St. Patrick's Day. They taste alright but for any other day of the year I'll stick with regular brownies. I'm not crazy about the frosting and feel it might be better by adding cream cheese. For the top I melted 1 oz. semi-sweet chips with 1 teaspoon of shortening, put in a sandwich bag, snipped off a corner and drizzled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
These brownies are different from the norm. Definitely a special occasion brownie. They were easy to make, but just a heads up - the frosting/topping is very runny. It needs to set up in the fridge before being cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Top Notch! I eliminated the coffee because I didn't have any. Also did not heat up the icing first, just mixed together and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The brownie part was so so, but the icing is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
mmm, these are good! I compared the directions for this to those on the brownie box and made some changes. I used only 1 egg, 1/4 cup veg oil and then still a 1/2 cup of the baileys. The first time I made these I used the suggested 9X13 and found the brownies to be too flat. They were in for the recommended 30 min and the texture was off. So next time I did a 9X9 pan and only had them in for 25 min. Much better! With the smaller pan size I also only needed half as much frosting. In the frosting I reduced the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I've made the brownie with the icing exactly as the recipe calls for and it was good but so sweet that I thought my teeth might fall out. Just made the icing again but on choc fudge cupcakes, while the icing is a bit on the runny side, it is amazing on the cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States