Irish Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
WOW!!! When I was in grade school one of my favorites was chicken on a biscuit. I'm 44 years young and haven't found anything close to the small meal!!!! I have a picky 16 y/o.....she will only eat pizza, tacos or ranch chicken. And then complains she's tired of eating the same things all the time. So according to her tastes I added the poultry seasoning, salt and pepper to the soup and water base and added 1 1/2 teaspoons onion powder. After, I made an 'Upside down chicken Shepard's pie.' I sprayed a 13×9 pan with Pam spray followed by a layer of mashed potatoes, corn, shredded chicken n gravy...and on top I made two boxes of "Red Lobster" biscuits and spooned them on top. Baked it for 45 minutes at 350°. Preheat your oven! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Snowed/Iced in here in North Carolina, needed something to warm the soul tonight and this was spot on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
OK people. If it's a little bland it means you like more spices... Add them. I recommend some Thyme and perhaps a bit of rubbed sage. Also this is a great thing to do with a left over Costco chicken. If you use one (or any already cooked chicken) combine step 1 & 2 and cook for only 30-45 minutes. Notice that doing this makes it an easy weekday recipe. Especially if you prep your veggies and potato the night before. Just cut them and place I a plastic bag, with water to cover. (Measure the water and use it as part of the soup) Come home, start the liquid with the veggies. While it's getting to temperature take the meat off the chicken adding right into the pot. All that's left is to add the peas and make your dumplings. EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Pretty sure Irish stew is not made with premade canned soup, so sick of these recipes that come off as home made but really just combine a bunch of prepackaged processed . Idk even care if this tastes good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was great. Not really sure what the others did wrong saying "not enough flavor"...everyone here thought it was fab! I left out the peas by request but, I will definitely make this again. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika925925

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Can you say....LOVED IT?! We used to drive 2 hours to a reataurant that made the best chicken & dumplings. Now we can make it at home. We have 5 kids so we made more (not quite doubled). Delicious! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I am rating this recipe low because I took many suggestions from others who changed or added to the recipe to make it better and it was delicious, but it also changed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I substituted chicken thighs for the chicken breast. The recipe turned out great. So great in fact that my husband said we had to add it to the family cookbook that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nessa2018
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Very yummy!!! I used cream of celery and cream if chicken, chicken bullion instead of Water, used frozen mixed veggies, and followed the dumpling recipe on the box not the amounts followed in this recipe. Turned out delicious! Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle Pinckney
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it was super super thick. I usually don't follow the recipe exactly, but did since this is so highly rated. Though not awful, it was more dumplings than anything. I don't mind spending a long time in the kitchen, but "as is" this is not worth 2+ hours in the kitchen. My boyfriend liked it, but wasn't wowed. Next time, I'll probably try a different recipe or try some of the modifications suggested here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Pinckney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States