Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was easy to make and tastes good too. It went great with the Irish Stew, Corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This was really good, but we thought it was lacking a little something. Hubby stirred in some sour cream which really made it pop! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is so delicious! My husband is from Co. Monaghan Ireland and I made this for his family. His mom hadn't made it in years since her kids are grown now and she doesn't have anyone to cook for, but she thoroughly enjoyed it. I generally use about half as many green onions as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This is a classic irish champ recipe. Half my family is irish and it tasted just like any champ i've ever had. I think it's important for people to remember when they make these recipes, that classic irish fare usually consists of basic, and usually very inexpensive ingredients. It's not supposed to come out tasting like something you ordered at a 5 star resturant... it's pub food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Just made this for St. Patty's day dinner. I used instant mash potatos to save some time and it tasted great. Husband like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Made this for our St. Patrick's Day meal to go along with Beef and Irish Stout Stew (from this site) and Irish Soda Bread V (again from this site. It was such a good accompaniment to the meal - almost good enough to take center stage! I made it exactly how it read and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Rich, creamy, and so delicious! Exactly right for our St. Patrick's Day dinners. I've served this with lamb stew, with corned beef and cabbage, and most recently with roasted salmon. I use cream instead of milk (oh my heart) and I let the scallions and cream seethe gently until the scallions soften. Comfort food with an Irish accent indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
It's the real stuff! (I'm Irish). Make a depression in the top and add a chunk of butter. You could put grated cheese on top and grill (broil) and crumble crispy bacon over it. It's not champ any more but its nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Yummy, this was really good. I used skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I wish there were more stars! We loved this. I made them green for St. Patty's, but I think we found a new way to make smashed taters FOREVER. I added a few tablespoons of creamcheese, but other than that, followed the recipe excactly. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States