Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Born in your native city of Belfast I grew up on Champ. One one thing missing from this recipe which would make it an "authentic" champ is the addition of one or two raw eggs mixed into the mash along with the milk,butter and scallions. Without that it is just mashed potatoe with milk , butter and scallions. Try the REAL Belfast champ by adding raw eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This is a classic irish champ recipe. Half my family is irish and it tasted just like any champ i've ever had. I think it's important for people to remember when they make these recipes, that classic irish fare usually consists of basic, and usually very inexpensive ingredients. It's not supposed to come out tasting like something you ordered at a 5 star resturant... it's pub food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This was really good, but we thought it was lacking a little something. Hubby stirred in some sour cream which really made it pop! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is so delicious! My husband is from Co. Monaghan Ireland and I made this for his family. His mom hadn't made it in years since her kids are grown now and she doesn't have anyone to cook for, but she thoroughly enjoyed it. I generally use about half as many green onions as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I have made Irish Champ for my family countless times (being Irish). The dish is always well liked and always empty at the end of the meal. I remember my grandmother making this with a raw egg (as another reviewer mentioned). I don't use one only because I am sensitive to food poisoning. But I think that the dish tastes great without it. This recipe is simple to make and good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This recipe was great for my husband and myself but our 5 kids werent overly excited about it....I made this the 2nd time with only half the onion, a clove of Garlic and a cup of sour cream, it was a hit!...family has asked for it to be served over the Holidays......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I wish there were more stars! We loved this. I made them green for St. Patty's, but I think we found a new way to make smashed taters FOREVER. I added a few tablespoons of creamcheese, but other than that, followed the recipe excactly. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Rich, creamy, and so delicious! Exactly right for our St. Patrick's Day dinners. I've served this with lamb stew, with corned beef and cabbage, and most recently with roasted salmon. I use cream instead of milk (oh my heart) and I let the scallions and cream seethe gently until the scallions soften. Comfort food with an Irish accent indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was easy to make and tastes good too. It went great with the Irish Stew, Corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
A very strong onion taste. I enjoyed them very much, but the kids wouldn't touch them after one bite. I would cut back on the amount of green onion a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States