Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Another big hit. My group was pleased with the crispness of the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Didn't change a thing...Absolutely FANTASTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
My husband loved this on St. Patty's day. I prefer to have the onion chopped very small - not just 'thinly sliced'. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I really wanted to capture that "authentic" taste that some reviewers had suggested by adding an egg into the mashed. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the egg, but it made the mashed potatoes a little too "mushy" than I would have liked. If you are planning to add an egg then I would recommend adding an extra few potatoes to get that nice consistancy of mashed potatoes. The egg didn't make much of a difference, though. It made the potatoes just slightly creamy. If you have food allgeries, then leaving out the egg won't make much of a difference. I agree with some other reviewers that it did lack some flavour, so I just added more salt and it really kicked up the flavour! Will definitely be making these again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Perhaps my wasn't quite authentic Irish when I changed it up. I used red potatoes and mashed them with skin on so they were mostly creamy but a little chunky. I added some sour cream as well. The red skins with the green onions was lovely and makes the dish more interesting and rustic. Fantastic and a hit at my St. Patrick's Day dinner. This recipe inspired me to add green onions to my mashed potatoes for good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Wonderful recipe! We've been making the Guinness Corned Beef recipe from this site for years and finally decided to add a different side to it besides carrots and boiled potatoes. I followed the recipe exactly as given and it was perfect. We added just one bunch of green onion as the recipe calls for and didn't think it was too much at all. After reading the previous reviews I was wondering if others had added the whole rubber band wrapped amount sold in the grocery store instead. I think if I had added that much it would be way too much. I did add some green food coloring for St. Patrick's Day as someone else suggested and it added a nice touch and added some great color to the plates. Thanks for the keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Amazing so easy so so good. We will keep this and rotate into monthly side dishes. I made two tiny changes I had some half and half so I used that in place of the milk. I also was very busy while making this so I left the skins on the potatoes and mashed them in. Extra vitamins and good texture. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Easy to make, and very filling. But lacks something in flavor. Not really sure how to fix it though and it still be authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Delicious, Wonderful, Fabulous, I don't have to say anymore! I used light cream instead of milk. Will make this often, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I love this recipe for Champ...being 50% Irish & 50% polish I grew up eating a lot of potatoes and cabbage. Plain old mashed potatoes just don't cut it after this...of course if you want to change things up a little you can always make Colcannon...my other favorite potato dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States