Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Thank you for sharing. This recipe is very simple and delicious. The green onions give the potatoes a wonderful flavor. My family really enjoyed this and I will be making it again very soon. Also, I thought this would be a perfect topping for Shepherd's Pie, which I will try making tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heygoodlookinwhatscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was so delicious served with the Beef and Irish Stout Stew also found on this site. I agree with other reviewers that less milk was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Really, really good! It came out very buttery and creamy. The only thing I would do different is use less milk, as it made the mash a bit runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Holy Cow- could this get any better??? Delish. YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. Delicious alternative to bangers and mash. I used less milk, as I think the amount in the recipe would have made the mash rather runny. Also I've found that heating the spring onions in less milk intensifies their flavour. Thanks for this recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrumdiddlyumptious

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Simple and delicious! Served with Irish stew for St. Patricks day, great meal. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GONZO95

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Another big hit. My group was pleased with the crispness of the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Didn't change a thing...Absolutely FANTASTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
My husband loved this on St. Patty's day. I prefer to have the onion chopped very small - not just 'thinly sliced'. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I really wanted to capture that "authentic" taste that some reviewers had suggested by adding an egg into the mashed. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the egg, but it made the mashed potatoes a little too "mushy" than I would have liked. If you are planning to add an egg then I would recommend adding an extra few potatoes to get that nice consistancy of mashed potatoes. The egg didn't make much of a difference, though. It made the potatoes just slightly creamy. If you have food allgeries, then leaving out the egg won't make much of a difference. I agree with some other reviewers that it did lack some flavour, so I just added more salt and it really kicked up the flavour! Will definitely be making these again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States