Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Champ and sausages!, one of my fav dinners :) I love loads of scallions ( green onions ) in mine but have to hold back for the kids. And we all have an extra dollop of butter on top too. I personally don't add the raw eggs that my mum always did as I have a child with an egg allergy but it still tastes good this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irish kim
Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Delicious! Even my daughter, who can't stand mashed potatoes (the texture kills it for her), ate it and liked it! The onions really make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
We like mashed potatoes with skins left on, so I made this using “unpeeled” Yukon Gold potatoes. Liked the taste the green onions added to this dish. My DS really liked this recipe much better than the mashed potato recipes I make with cooked cabbage added. In fact, he asked that I make mashed potatoes this way, all the time. It pared very nicely with ‘Brown Sugar Meatloaf’ another AR recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I've been making mashed potatoes with green onions and everything else in this recipe for years but I never had a name (or recipe) for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
One comment I would make is the Irish Champ always uses full fat milk. In Canada we call it Homo milk (3.5% butterfat). I have made it with 1% milk and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Thank you for the recipe! My husband and I love potatoes and onions, so this was perfect for us. I changed a few things too: I left the peelings on the potatoes, and I used coconut milk and Earth Balance sticks for a vegan version. Even my meat-eating husband likes them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is really really good! Tried it at St. Patrick's day and then have had it a number of times since. Makes all my Irish blood happy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I enjoyed this. Not exceptional, but a nice-tasting side dish for our St. Patrick's day meal. I prefer a lot of green onions but didn't want to overwhelm the others who don't, so I had a bowl of extra sliced green onions on the side. Some took it, some didn't - it was a good compromise for those who worry about it being to strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States