Irish Champ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I made this for St. Patrick's day and the people I work with loved it. Of course, I did not get enough, so I am making it again to serve with pork roast tonight. Twice in one week! Can you tell I am Irish?! Thank you for the recipe, Ita. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy DeMars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was perfect served with corned beef and cabbage last night for Saint Patty's Day! I used less green onions and added fresh parsley and "real" bacon bits. Also stirred in sour cream to make it creamier. I'd be very interested in adding an egg next time as the most popular reviewer stated. FYI: You'd only need to add shredded cheddar cheese to make this Loaded mashed potatoes ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
So good! My family is also from Ireland and my mom remembered it from when she was younger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Thumbs up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Made these for irish themed dinner I was hosting for friends. I accidentally cooked the potatoes too long, but still delicious. Served under Beef and Guinness® Stew from this site, with irish soda bread. So simple so easy so good. My fiancé who hates onions even loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
We made this last night, and we loved it. Instead of peeling the potatoes we left the skins on, and we had bought the small golden potatoes and they worked just as good. We thought it was asking for more green onions then needed but followed the recipe anyways and I'm glad we did!!! it was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I never would have thought that just adding scallions to mashed potatoes would make them so delicious! I used gold potatoes and a bit of garlic powder, and did top with more butter before serving. I can see adding a little of what other reviewers suggested as well (cream cheese, sour cream, egg). I'm a little late for St Patty's Day, but this is delicious and has a spring-like taste to it. Thanks for the great recipe, Ita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I have to agree with another reviewer that there really isn't anything original about this. It's just mashed potatoes, after all, with green onion added to it. Nevertheless, Hubs and I enjoyed this as part of our St. Paddy's Day corned beef dinner. I added the green onion to taste rather than the full amount, and used buttermilk instead of milk, basically because I had it to use before we head out of town. Looking forward to a re-do tomorrow night with this evening's leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made these for St. Patricks Day and the family all enjoyed. Leftovers were enjoyed the next day, too! Note: I tripled the amount of potatoes (used about 2/3rds of a 10 lb bag) and still only used the 1 C. of milk and 1/2 C. of butter. Plenty moist--I cant imagine how runny they would have been if I had used 3 C of milk! Also, I used about 8-9 stalks of green onion and they had plenty of onion flavor. Really didn't need to add anymore onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was lovely and a different way to have mashed potatoes. Used a little less green onion, and that was perfect for us. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States